A 3-year bachelor's programme, taught in Czech, in Prague.

PriceNo fee (as stated)/ year · year not stated · all nationalities ≈ €0Year not statedConfirm with the source
Next dateApply by
LanguageCzech⁠Requires B2 level
Duration3 years⁠

✓ 27 official sources · checked 29 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Mathematics sets the tone of this 3-year bachelor at the Faculty of Social Sciences: Matematika I and II carry 10 credits each, a third maths course 6, and they sit beside Ekonomie I and II, Public Finance, Finanční ekonomie and Introductory Statistics.⁠ Compulsory-elective options include Institutional Economics, History of Economic Thought, European Economic Integration and International Trade.⁠ Of the 180 credits, 130 are compulsory, and the degree ends with a State Examination that includes defending a bachelor's thesis.⁠

Instruction is in Czech, full time and on campus, although several compulsory courses, such as Microeconomics I, Statistics and Econometrics, are taught in English.⁠ Applicants need completed secondary education and proof of Czech at C1 level, for example a certified Czech exam, unless exempt through a Czech or Slovak maturita.⁠ Applications are due by 28 February 2027 for the October 2027 intake, and the online application costs 1000 CZK.⁠ In the previous academic year, 153 of 502 applicants were admitted.⁠

What you will study

76 modules published

What are all the subjects?

All 76 modules

Business and management

37

Free electives

9

Maths and foundations

8

Languages and communication

8

Data and computing

4

Society, ethics and law

4

Thesis

3

Internship

2

Research methods

1

The institution lists these modules without a year. Source: karolinka.fsv.cuni.cz, checked 25 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor · Title: Bachelor · Degree: Bc.⁠
Credits180 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Thesis / final project
  • RequiredYes⁠
  • Final state examinationYes⁠
Codes and faculty
Programme code
  • B0311A050017⁠
  • Programme nameEconomics and Finance⁠
FacultyFaculty of Social Sciences⁠
Curriculum year2026/27⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More business and management than 3 of 3 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeEconomics and Finance Charles University76
Accounting and Taxes Vysoké učení technické v Brně61
Financial Management Metropolitní univerzita Praha36
Digital Economy Metropolitní univerzita Praha36
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More business and management, less languages and communication

Share here against the average of 3 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Business and management
53% here
36% typical
Maths and foundations
14% here
5% typical
Thesis
4% here
0% typical
Data and computing
5% here
1% typical

Less here than typical

Specialist subjects
0% here
24% typical
Languages and communication
7% here
15% typical
Projects and labs
0% here
4% typical

About the same as typical: society, ethics and law, internship.

What is only here?

44 modules not found at 3 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Business and management

27
  • Economics I
  • History of Economic Thought
  • Institutional Economics
  • European Economic Integration
  • Financial Economics
  • International Finance
  • Labour Economics
  • Principles of Economics I
+19 more
  • Comparative Economics
  • Econometrics I
  • Strategic Management
  • Global Economic History
  • Topics in Industrial Organization
  • Cambridge Lectures in Economic History
  • Behavioral Economics
  • Recent Financial Crises: Theory and Evidence
  • Financial Institutions and Markets
  • Industrial Organization
  • Behavioral Finance
  • Economics of Green Deal
  • Fundamentals of Health Economics
  • Topics in Fiscal Policy
  • History and Methodology of Economics
  • International Political Economy
  • Risk Management and Insurance
  • Fiscal Policy, Public Debt and Sovereign Debt Ratings
  • English for Economists I

Maths and foundations

4
  • Introductory Statistics
  • Mathematical Analysis Seminar I
  • Mathematical Analysis and Algebra Seminar II
  • Advanced Mathematical Methods for Economics and Finance

Data and computing

4
  • Advanced Data Analysis in MS Excel
  • Data Analysis in R
  • Data Processing in Python
  • FinTech and Blockchain

Society, ethics and law

4
  • Czech Economic History in a Global Context
  • Ethics and Economics
  • Financial Services Law
  • Introduction to Sociology

Languages and communication

4
  • German for Economists - Intermediate I
  • German for Economists - Advanced I
  • German for Economists - Lower Intermediate I
  • Academic Communication I

Research methods

1
  • Empirical Research Methods on Financial Crises
Where you'll study

Studying in Prague

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,397,880 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 0.2 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠ · Room guaranteed in the first yearInferred
RankingQS World University Rankings 2026: #273, world⁠
FacilitiesGymInferred, Sports fieldsInferred, Sports hallInferred, Swimming poolInferred, Tennis courtsInferred, Library⁠
FoodCanteenInferred

The rest of what we hold on Charles University is on its page.

What it costs

No fee (as stated) / year

Every fee and condition published
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
ApplicationAll applicants2027/28CZK 1,000 one-time
≈ €41
ScholarshipsUnknown
How to start

Apply by 28 Feb 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadlineAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadlineAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenProgramme starts
Every date (3 dates)
Feb 2027
  • Application deadline
  • Application deadline
Oct 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirementB2 CEFR minimum
Czech requirementC1 CEFR minimumExemptions exist
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyFor: Bachelor · Level: Completed secondary education⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCEFR from: B2 · Language: English · Verified at admission: No⁠
    +1 more
    • Proof: CCE C1 (ÚJOP UK or ČVUT); state language exam in Czech · Exempt: Czech/Slovak maturita or IB Czech/Slovak Literature ≥ 4 · CEFR from: C1 · Deadline: before enrolment · Language: Czech⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsTest: Scio NSZ (Národní srovnávací zkoušky) · Parts: OSP (general study aptitude); MAT (mathematics) · Weights: MAT: 0.6 · OSP: 0.4 · 2027/28 · Best attempt counts: YesInferred! Sources disagree
  4. 4
    How they chooseApply by: 14 May 2027 · Examples: NSZ Mathematics percentile ≥ 95; Maths Olympiad regional 1st–5th; AP Calculus AB 5 / BC ≥ 4; IB Math AA HL ≥ 6 / SL 7 · Criterion: Exemption from exam⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applySystem: SIS e-application (is.cuni.cz) · Channels: Online⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline28 Feb 2027 · Application · 2027⁠
    +1 more
    • 28 Feb 2027 · Application · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
  8. 8
    StartDate: 1 Oct 2027 · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

0 of 3 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Czechia

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 1 more.

This programmeEconomics and Finance Charles UniversitySimilarAccounting and Taxes Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarFinancial Management Metropolitní univerzita Praha
PriceNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Duration3 years3 years3 years
LanguageCzechCzechCzech
Next date28 Feb 2027Not publishedNot published

0 of 3 publish a next date.

Metropolitní univerzita Praha · PragueCzechia

Digital Economy

Digitální ekonomika

CZK 65,000 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

22% business and management · 14% languages and communication

BachelorScholarshipsCzech
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

125 facts from 27 official sources

Checked 6 days ago.

125facts with a quote
27official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 27 sources
karolinka.fsv.cuni.cz/KFSV-1871.html7925 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/prijimacky/index.php?do=detail_obor&id_obor=3681729 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB027226 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB104229 Oct 2026
cuni.cz/UKEN-1613.html225 Oct 2026
cuni.cz/UKEN-1031.html225 Oct 2026
cuni.cz/UKEN-1632.html125 Oct 2026
cuni.cz/UKEN-372.html125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB003125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB004125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB025125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB031125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB032125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB033125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB034125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB105125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB108125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB109125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB110125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB114125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB115125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB153125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JEB157125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JLB003125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/predmety/index.php?do=predmet&kod=JLB004125 Oct 2026
is.cuni.cz/studium/eng/prijimacky/index.php?do=obory&fakulta=&fst=&dru125 Oct 2026
cuni.cz/UKEN-1634.html125 Oct 2026
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Economics and Finance is a bachelor's programme in economics and finance at Univerzita Karlova in Prague, Czechia. It takes 3 years. It carries 180 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Czech.

The institution publishes 76 modules, of which 52 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are business and management (53%), maths and foundations (14%) and free electives (11%).

It includes a final thesis.

How much does Economics and Finance cost?

No fee (as stated) / year · year not stated · all nationalities. Year not stated: confirm with the source.

When is the next deadline or start?

28 Feb 2027 (Apply by).

What language is it taught in?

Czech (Requires B2 level).

How long does it take?

3 years.

Where is it?

Univerzita Karlova, Prague, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 26 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Dates · 3 with values
Deadline ruleRule: 28 February or 31 March depending on programme · Programme language: Czech⁠
Exam sessionsKind: Scio nsz free voucher dates · Dates: 20 Feb 2027; 20 Mar 2027; 24 Apr 2027 · Condition: application and payment submitted by 2027-01-31; faculty pays one NSZ test per application (max 2) · 2027/28⁠Kind: Scio nsz mat accepted dates · Dates: 31 Jan 2026; 28 Feb 2026; 28 Mar 2026; 25 Apr 2026; 30 Jan 2027; 20 Feb 2027; 20 Mar 2027; 24 Apr 2027 · 2027/28⁠
StartDate: 1 Oct 2027 · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
Admission · 5 with values
How to applySystem: SIS e-application (is.cuni.cz) · Channels: Online⁠
Admission testsTest: Scio NSZ (Národní srovnávací zkoušky) · Parts: OSP (general study aptitude); MAT (mathematics) · Weights: MAT: 0.6 · OSP: 0.4 · 2027/28 · Best attempt counts: YesInferred! Sources disagree
Language requirementCEFR from: B2 · Language: English · Verified at admission: No⁠Proof: CCE C1 (ÚJOP UK or ČVUT); state language exam in Czech · Exempt: Czech/Slovak maturita or IB Czech/Slovak Literature ≥ 4 · CEFR from: C1 · Deadline: before enrolment · Language: Czech⁠
Prior educationFor: Bachelor · Level: Completed secondary education⁠
Selection criteriaApply by: 14 May 2027 · Examples: NSZ Mathematics percentile ≥ 95; Maths Olympiad regional 1st–5th; AP Calculus AB 5 / BC ≥ 4; IB Math AA HL ≥ 6 / SL 7 · Criterion: Exemption from exam⁠
Programme · 14 with values
Admission statsPeriod: previous academic year · Admitted: 153 · Applicants: 502⁠
QualificationBachelor · Title: Bachelor · Degree: Bc.⁠
Credits180 ECTS⁠
Curriculum year2026/27⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration3 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Social Sciences⁠
Language of instructionCzech⁠
Languages partialNote: several compulsory courses are taught in English (e.g. Microeconomics I, Statistics, Econometrics)Inferred
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Programme codeProgramme code: B0311A050017 · Programme name: Economics and Finance⁠
StructureTotal credits: 180 · Compulsory credits: 130 · Elective min credits: 32 · Optional max credits: 18⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
Thesis / final projectRequired: Yes · Final state examination: Yes⁠

Institution record: Univerzita Karlova

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.