A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in Dutch and English, in Groningen.

Price€2,694/ year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA
Next dateApply by · Non-EU citizens
LanguageDutch and English⁠Requires IELTS Academic 6.0
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 10 official sources · checked 29 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

272 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
72 modulesSemester split not stated
Year 2
52 modulesSemester split not stated
Year 3
Semester 5Not stated
Internship30 ECTSSemester not stated
Year 4
Semester 7Not stated
Final project25 ECTSSemester not stated
InternshipFinal projectYear known, semester not
How does the focus shift?

From projects and labs to thesis

Share of modules by theme in each year. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsLanguages and communicationResearch methodsProjects and labsInternshipThesisFree electives
Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
  • Specialist subjects
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 272 modules

Year 1 · 72 modules
ModuleECTS
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 52 modules
ModuleECTS
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 118 modules · all elective pool
ModuleECTS
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
30
15
15
15
15
15
15
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 30 modules · all elective pool
ModuleECTS
25
25
25
25
25
25
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
5
5
5
5
5
5
15
15
15
15
15
15

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor of Arts⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
CampusGroningen⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More projects and labs than 3 of 4 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeDesign Hanze267
Fine Art Hanze38
Classical Music Hanze25
Jazz Hanze25

2 of 6 similar programmes publish too few modules to compare.

  • Specialist subjects
  • Data and computing
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More projects and labs than usual

Share here against the average of 4 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Projects and labs
61% here
25% typical
Internship
6% here
2% typical

Less here than typical

Specialist subjects
14% here
46% typical

About the same as typical: thesis, research methods, languages and communication, data and computing, society, ethics and law.

Which year differs most?

Year 3 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

  • Specialist subjects
  • Data and computing
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Free electives
What is only here?

42 modules not found at 5 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Projects and labs

33
  • Lab 1 Graphic
  • Lab 3 Graphic
  • Lab 1 Illustration
  • Lab 3 Illustration
  • Lab 1 Product
  • Lab 3 Product
  • lab 1 Spatial
  • lab 3 Spatial
+25 more
  • Lab 1 Time Based
  • Lab 3 Time Based
  • Studio 1 Graphic
  • Studio 3 Graphic
  • Studio 1 Illustration
  • Studio 3 Illustration
  • Studio 1 Product
  • Studio 3 Product
  • Studio 1 Spatial
  • Studio 3 Spatial
  • Studio 1 Time Based
  • Studio 3 Time Based
  • Lab/Major of Choice
  • Studio-Lab/Film-Animation Design
  • Studio-Lab/Graphic & Interaction Design
  • Studio-Lab/Illustration Design
  • Studio-Lab/Product Design
  • Studio-Lab/Spatial Design
  • Studio-Lab/Time Based Design
  • Studio/Major of Choice
  • Professional Development/Theory-Study Portfolio GI
  • Professional Development/Theory-Study Portfolio MC
  • Professional Development/Theory-Study Portfolio SP
  • Professional Development/Theory-Study Portfolio TA
  • Studio-Lab/Animation Design

Specialist subjects

7
  • Professional Development/Theory - Context Essay & Poster Pitch
  • OffCourses
  • Professional Development/Theory-Study Portfolio1
  • Professional Development/Theory Illustration, Graphic & Interaction design
  • Professional Development/Theory-Student Guidance MC
  • Professional Development/Theory-Student Guidance SP
  • Professional Development/Theory-Student Guidance TFA

Research methods

1
  • Switchboard Research Project

Languages and communication

1
  • Professional Development/Theory - Positioning & Presentation
Where you'll study

Studying in Groningen

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 238,147 in 2023
HousingRooms through partner residencesInferred
RankingEduRank 2025: #19, national⁠
FacilitiesLibraryInferred, Sports hallInferred
SupportCounsellingInferred, Disability supportInferred, TransportInferred

The rest of what we hold on Hanze is on its page.

What it costs

At least €2,694 for the first year · EU/EEA

What does the first year cost?

≥ €2,694 first year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€2,694

Not published: application fee and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (1)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€2,694 / year
ScholarshipsUnknown
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

Terms

How you pay: Note: first instalment includes administrative fee when paying in instalments · Currency:

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 20 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €2,694

Costs more than 0 of 19 similar programmes. Half of them cost €21,531.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 20, cheapest first
This programme2026/27≈ €2,694
Classical Music (Hanze University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €2,694
Fine Art (Hanze University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €2,694
Jazz (Hanze University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €2,694
BA (Hons) 2D Digital Animation (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) 3D Animation and Visual Effects (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) 3D Games Art & Design (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Character and Creative Effects (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Comics and Concept Art (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Digital Arts for Animation, Games & Immersion (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Fashion and Fashion Business (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Model Design and Special Effects (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Music Composition and Sound for Film and Games (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Music Production and Promotion (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Graphic Design (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BA (Hons) Illustration (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
Bachelor in Design (IE University)2027/28≈ €28,020
Bachelor in Fashion Design (IE University)2027/28≈ €28,020
Dual Bachelor Degree in Business Administration & Design (IE University)2027/28≈ €34,020
Dual Bachelor Degree in Business Administration & Fashion Design (IE University)2027/28≈ €34,020
And the whole degree?

≈ €10,776

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 1 Apr 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (2 dates)
Apr 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU citizens
May 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.0 IELTS overall8 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 9 accepted proofs
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English
TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17
Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.5
LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English
Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169
Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English
TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English
TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyUnknown
  2. 2
    Prove your languageIELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English⁠
    +8 more
    • TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17⁠
    • Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠
    • IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.5⁠
    • LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English⁠
    • Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠
    • Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English⁠
    • TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English⁠
    • TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyThen: Hanze apply · System: Studielink⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline1 Apr 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink⁠
    +1 more
    • 1 May 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink⁠
  8. 8
    StartUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

5 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Netherlands

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeDesign HanzeSimilarFine Art HanzeSimilarUser Experience Design THUAS
Price€2,694 / year · 2026/27€2,694 / year · 2026/27€10,528 / year · 2026/27
Duration4 years4 years3 years
LanguageDutch and EnglishDutch and EnglishEnglish
Next date1 Apr 20271 Apr 2027Not published

1 of 6 publish a next date.

Hanze · GroningenNetherlands

Classical Music

€2,694 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA

20% free electives · 11% thesis

BachelorTaught in EnglishDutchEnglish

Hanze · GroningenNetherlands

Jazz

€2,694 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA

20% free electives · 11% thesis

BachelorTaught in EnglishDutchEnglish

NHL Stenden · LeeuwardenNetherlands

Creative Business

€2,771–€10,630 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship
60
credits (ECTS)
4 yr
length
BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish

RotterdamNetherlands

Autonomous Fine Art

Autonome Beeldende KunstTranslated

Price not found on official pages
4 yr
length
BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsDutchEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

297 facts from 10 official sources

Checked 6 days ago.

297facts with a quote
10official pages
1fields marked unknown
All 10 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Design is a bachelor's programme in arts and design at Hanze University of Applied Sciences in Groningen, Netherlands. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Dutch and English.

The institution publishes 272 modules, of which 62 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are projects and labs (61%), thesis (8%) and internship (6%).

How much does Design cost?

€2,694 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA.

When is the next deadline or start?

1 Apr 2027 (Apply by · Non-EU citizens).

What language is it taught in?

Dutch and English (Requires IELTS Academic 6.0).

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Hanze University of Applied Sciences, Groningen, Netherlands.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 18 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values · 1 without
InstitutionalOn request from the institution via the institution's form
Payment termsNote: first instalment includes administrative fee when paying in instalments · Currency: EUR · Applies to: Tuition · Instalment admin fee: 24! Sources disagree
Admission · 3 with values
How to applyThen: Hanze apply · System: Studielink⁠
Language requirementIELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English⁠TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17⁠Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.5⁠LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English⁠Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English⁠TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English⁠TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English⁠
Language validityNote: English test scores (except Cambridge) older than two years at programme start are not accepted; online tests not accepted · Max age years: 2⁠
Programme · 10 with values
CampusGroningen⁠
QualificationBachelor of Arts⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration4 years⁠
Language of instructionDutch and English⁠
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Official namesOfficial en: Design · Official native: Design⁠
Start ruleRecurrence: Yearly · Intake months: 9⁠
Study modeFull time⁠

Institution record: Hanze University of Applied Sciences

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.