A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in English, in Groningen.

Price€2,694/ year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA
Next dateApply by · Non-EU citizens
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires IELTS Academic 6.0
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 7 official sources · checked 29 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Two technical strands anchor the early years: Drive systems and Control systems, each worth 15 ECTS per module block.⁠ Both continue in year two, so the theory builds on itself before the practical stages.⁠ Year three is a 30-ECTS internship and year four a 30-ECTS graduation project.⁠

This Bachelor of Science in Groningen takes four years and 240 ECTS credits, full-time, in English.⁠ Entry needs upper-secondary education and English proof such as IELTS Academic 6.0 overall, with 5.0 in each subscore.⁠ Scores other than Cambridge cannot be older than 2 years at the start.⁠ Studies begin in September, and applications go through Studielink, with a 1 June 2027 deadline for non-EU applicants and 15 August 2027 for EU/EEA applicants.⁠

What you will study

60 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
41 modulesSemester split not stated
Year 2
4 modulesSemester split not stated
Year 3
Semester 5Not stated
Internship30 ECTSSemester not stated
Year 4
Semester 7Not stated
Final project30 ECTSSemester not stated
InternshipFinal projectYear known, semester not
How does the focus shift?

From data and computing to thesis

Share of modules by theme in each year. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingSociety, ethics and lawProjects and labsInternshipThesisFree electives
Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 60 modules

Year 1 · 50 modules · all elective pool
ModuleECTS
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
15
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 4 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
15
15
15
15

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 3 modules · 90 ECTS
ModuleECTS
30
30
30

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 3 modules · 90 ECTS
ModuleECTS
30
30
30

Source: catalogue.hanze.nl, checked 29 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor of Science⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
CampusGroningen⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More internship than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeElectrical and Electronic Engineering Hanze60
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More internship, less maths and foundations

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Internship
16% here
1% typical
Thesis
16% here
3% typical

Less here than typical

Specialist subjects
34% here
44% typical
Maths and foundations
8% here
15% typical
Research methods
0% here
4% typical

About the same as typical: society, ethics and law, business and management, languages and communication, data and computing, projects and labs.

Where you'll study

Studying in Groningen

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 238,147 in 2023
HousingRooms through partner residencesInferred
RankingEduRank 2025: #19, national⁠
FacilitiesLibraryInferred, Sports hallInferred
SupportCounsellingInferred, Disability supportInferred, TransportInferred

The rest of what we hold on Hanze is on its page.

What it costs

At least €2,694 for the first year · EU/EEA

What does the first year cost?

≥ €2,694 first year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€2,694

Not published: application fee and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (1)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€2,694 / year
ScholarshipsUnknown
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

Terms

How you pay: Note: first instalment includes administrative fee when paying in instalments · Currency:

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 15 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €2,694

Costs more than 0 of 14 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €3,906 and €21,531.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 15, cheapest first
And the whole degree?

≈ €10,776

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 1 Jun 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenProgramme starts
Every date (3 dates)
Jun 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU citizens
Aug 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
Sep 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.0 IELTS overall8 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 9 accepted proofs
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English
TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17
Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.0
LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English
Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169
Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English
TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English
TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyLevel: Upper secondary · Diploma: non dutch⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageIELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English⁠
    +8 more
    • TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17⁠
    • Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠
    • IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.0⁠
    • LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English⁠
    • Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠
    • Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English⁠
    • TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English⁠
    • TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyThen: Hanze apply · System: Studielink⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline1 Jun 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink⁠
    +1 more
    • 15 Aug 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink⁠
  8. 8
    StartDate: 1 Sep 2027 · 2027 · 2027/28⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

6 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Netherlands

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeElectrical and Electronic Engineering HanzeSimilarMechanical Engineering HanzeSimilarMechanical Engineering HAN
Price€2,694 / year · 2026/27€2,694 / year · 2026/27€10,940 / year · 2026/27
Duration4 years3 years4 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date1 Jun 2027Not published1 Sep 2027

5 of 6 publish a next date.

Saxion · EnschedeNetherlands

Mechanical Engineering

€2,694–€9,360 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

22% maths and foundations · 11% free electives

BachelorInternshipProject-basedEnglish
Next date

HAN · ArnhemNetherlands

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

€2,694–€10,940 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

14% maths and foundations · 14% projects and labs

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

HAN · ArnhemNetherlands

Embedded Systems Engineering

€2,694–€10,940 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

67% data and computing · 6% maths and foundations

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

HAN · ArnhemNetherlands

Automotive Engineering

€2,694–€10,940 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

15% maths and foundations · 8% business and management

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

87 facts from 7 official sources

Checked 6 days ago.

87facts with a quote
7official pages
1fields marked unknown
All 7 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Electrical and Electronic Engineering is a bachelor's programme in engineering and technology at Hanze University of Applied Sciences in Groningen, Netherlands. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 60 modules, of which 9 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are data and computing (16%), internship (16%) and thesis (16%).

How much does Electrical and Electronic Engineering cost?

€2,694 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA.

When is the next deadline or start?

1 Jun 2027 (Apply by · Non-EU citizens).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires IELTS Academic 6.0).

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Hanze University of Applied Sciences, Groningen, Netherlands.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 20 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values · 1 without
InstitutionalOn request from the institution via the institution's form
Payment termsNote: first instalment includes administrative fee when paying in instalments · Currency: EUR · Applies to: Tuition · Instalment admin fee: 24! Sources disagree
Dates · 1 with values
StartDate: 1 Sep 2027 · 2027 · 2027/28⁠
Admission · 4 with values
How to applyThen: Hanze apply · System: Studielink⁠
Language requirementIELTS Academic 6.0 · Note: some bachelor programmes require minimum subscores · Level: Bachelor · Language: English⁠TOEFL iBT 80 · Note: tests before 2026-01-21; from 2026-01-21 scale 1-6: overall 4.5, subscores 4.5; Home Edition not allowed · Language: English · Subscore min: 17⁠Cambridge English · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · Subscore min: 5.0⁠LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English⁠Linguaskill · Language: English · Scale max: 175 · Scale min: 169⁠Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English⁠TOEIC Listening and Reading 865 · Language: English⁠TOEIC Speaking and Writing 335 · Language: English⁠
Language validityNote: English test scores (except Cambridge) older than two years at programme start are not accepted; online tests not accepted · Max age years: 2⁠
Prior educationLevel: Upper secondary · Diploma: non dutch⁠
Programme · 10 with values
CampusGroningen⁠
QualificationBachelor of Science⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration4 years⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Official namesOfficial en: Electrical and Electronic Engineering · Official native: Electrical and Electronic Engineering⁠
Start ruleRecurrence: Yearly · Intake months: 9⁠
Study modeFull time⁠

Institution record: Hanze University of Applied Sciences

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.