A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in English, in Deventer.

How it's taught55% Practical and group work · 10% Study career counseling⁠18 of 297 similar publish this
InternshipOperational internship · Location: Netherlands or abroad · Year 2⁠23 of 297 similar publish this
Price€2,694–€9,360/ year · 2026/27 · depending on citizenship
Next dateApply by · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires IELTS Academic 6.0
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 26 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Tourism, events and hospitality meet in this 4-year, 240-ECTS bachelor: compulsory modules include SMART Tourism, Event Management, Flourishing Destinations and Hospitality worldwide.⁠ Language electives in Spanish, French and German sit beside English-language business modules.⁠ Teaching is mostly hands-on, with 55% practical and group work, 35% theory and 10% study career counselling, over 20 contact hours a week.⁠ The second year mixes an operational internship, in the Netherlands or abroad, with lessons at school.⁠

The course is full time, taught in English in Deventer, and starts in September.⁠ A secondary school diploma is required, with economics recommended, and for 2027/28 English can be shown with IELTS Academic 6.0, LanguageCert Academic 65 or a Cambridge score of 169.⁠ Tuition in 2026/27 is €9,360 per year for non-EU students and €2,694 for EU students.⁠

What you will study

24 modules published

What is a week like?

40 hours a week

Classes 20 hSelf-study 20 hLine: 40-hour job
How it's taught
Practical and group work 55%Study career counseling 10%Theory 35%

38 of 298 similar publish hours · 8 of 298 publish a teaching split

What are all the subjects?

All 24 modules

HBS: HM/TM Applied Research Project · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: HM/TM Main Phase 2 Fourth Year Young Professional Semester (EN) · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: Language choice First Year · 3 modules · all elective · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: Language choice Main Phase · 3 modules · all elective · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: TM First year · 8 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: TM Main phase 1 · 4 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: TM Main phase 2 · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

HBS: TM Main Phase 2 Smart Solution Semester · 3 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor of Arts⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
CampusDeventer⁠
Internship
  • Operational internshipNetherlands or abroad · 2 year of study⁠
How are you assessed?
Teaching methods
  • MethodPractical and group work⁠
  • Share pct55⁠
  • MethodStudy career counseling⁠
  • Share pct10⁠
  • MethodTheory⁠
  • Share pct35⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More languages and communication than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeTourism Management Saxion24
Hotel Management Saxion15
Tourism Management NHL Stenden12
Hospitality Management NHL Stenden13
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
Is this a typical programme?

More languages and communication, less business and management

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Languages and communication
42% here
15% typical
Specialist subjects
25% here
18% typical

Less here than typical

Business and management
25% here
46% typical
Society, ethics and law
0% here
6% typical

About the same as typical: research methods, internship, data and computing, maths and foundations, projects and labs.

What is only here?

9 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Business and management

5
  • SMART Tourism
  • Hospitality worldwide
  • Hospitality Accounting
  • Destination marketing
  • World of tourism

Specialist subjects

3
  • Flourishing Destinations
  • Value Creation
  • Understanding the tourist

Languages and communication

1
  • HB-Event Organisation & Communication
Where you'll study

Studying in Deventer

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 101,236 in 2021
Distance to the centre≈ 0.5 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms through partner residences⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠, LaboratoriesInferred, Studios⁠
FoodCanteenInferred
SupportCounselling⁠, Career service⁠, Disability support⁠

The rest of what we hold on Saxion is on its page.

What it costs

At least €22,864 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €22,864 first year · 2026/27 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€9,360
Visa or residence permit€254
Insurance, first year€287
Living: the amount you must prove for the visa€12,963

Not published: application fee

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (2)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€2,694 / year
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2026/27€9,360 / year
What changes the price?

3 things that move it

×3.5
EU/EEA€2,694
non-EU€9,360

Your passport changes the rate.

−€5,000

NL Scholarship (NLS): GPA 80% or higher and IELTS 7.0 or higher

−€2,750

Saxion Talent Scholarship (STS): GPA 75% or higher and IELTS 6.0 or higher

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 31 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €9,360

Costs more than 0 of 30 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €19,770 and €21,403.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 31, cheapest first
This programme2026/27≈ €9,360
Hotel Management (Saxion University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €9,360
Hospitality Management (NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences)2027/28≈ €10,630
Leisure & Events Management (NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences)2027/28≈ €10,630
Tourism Management (NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences)2027/28≈ €10,630
Sport Studies - track International Sports, Management and Business (ISMB) (Hogeschool van Amsterdam)2026/27≈ €10,648
Hospitality Management BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Sport Business Management BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Tourism Management BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Sport and Exercise Science BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Sport Rehabilitation BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
BA (Hons) Esports (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Esports with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Culinary Industry Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Culinary Industry Management with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) International Hospitality Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) International Hospitality Management with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) International Tourism Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) International Tourism Management with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Sport and Exercise Science (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Sport and Exercise Science with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
Sport Management (Top-up) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €21,268
Sports Coaching (Top Up) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €21,268
International Tourism and Hospitality Management, BA Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Sport and Exercise Science, BSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
BSc (Hons) International Tourism and Hospitality Management (University of Sunderland)2027/28≈ €22,166
Global Sport Management (Dual Degree - Brock University) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Global Sport Management (Dual Degree - Edith Cowan University) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Sport and Exercise Science BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Sport Management BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Science (Dual Degree - Brock University) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €23,364
And the whole degree?

≈ €37,440

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 1 Apr 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalitiesAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenDocuments and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalitiesAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (6 dates)
Apr 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
May 2027
  • Documents and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
Jun 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens
Jul 2027
  • Documents and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens
Aug 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
  • Documents and payment · EU/EEA citizens
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.0 IELTS overall7 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 7 accepted proofs
Cambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28
LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28
Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28
Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28
TOEFL iBT 4.5 · Scale: new score scale (exams from 21 Jan 2026) · Language: English · 2027/28 · Alt overall min old scale: 80
TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyStrength: Recommended · 2027/28 · Qualification: Secondary school diploma · Recommended subjects: Economics⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    +6 more
    • IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • TOEFL iBT 4.5 · Scale: new score scale (exams from 21 Jan 2026) · Language: English · 2027/28 · Alt overall min old scale: 80⁠
    • TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyNot found
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline1 Apr 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    +5 more
    • 1 May 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 1 Jun 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 1 Jul 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 15 Aug 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 31 Aug 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
  8. 8
    StartTerm: September · 2027⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

3 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Netherlands

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeTourism Management SaxionSimilarHotel Management SaxionSimilarBBA (HBA) Specialisation in Sport Business Management Wittenborg
Price€9,360 / year · 2026/27€9,360 / year · 2026/27Not published
Duration4 years4 years3 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date1 Apr 20271 Apr 202730 Nov 2026

4 of 6 publish a next date.

Wittenborg · ApeldoornNetherlands

BBA (HBA) Specialisation in Tourism Management

€11,800 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

51% business and management · 9% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

NHL Stenden · LeeuwardenNetherlands

Tourism Management

€2,771–€10,630 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship

67% business and management · 17% languages and communication

BachelorInternshipTaught in EnglishEnglish

NHL Stenden · LeeuwardenNetherlands

Hospitality Management

€2,771–€10,630 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship

31% business and management · 15% languages and communication

BachelorInternshipTaught in EnglishEnglish

Wittenborg · ApeldoornNetherlands

BBA (HBA) Specialisation in Hospitality Management

€11,800 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

54% business and management · 7% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

57 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 9 days ago.

57facts with a quote
6official pages
1fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Tourism Management is a bachelor's programme in hospitality, tourism and sport at Saxion University of Applied Sciences in Deventer, Netherlands. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 24 modules, of which 6 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are languages and communication (42%), business and management (25%) and internship (4%).

It includes an internship.

How much does Tourism Management cost?

€9,360 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU/EEA citizens: €2,694; Non-EU/EEA citizens: €9,360).

When is the next deadline or start?

1 Apr 2027 (Apply by · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires IELTS Academic 6.0).

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Saxion University of Applied Sciences, Deventer, Netherlands.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 20 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Dates · 1 with values
StartTerm: September · 2027⁠
Admission · 2 with values · 1 without
How to applyNot found on official pages
Language requirementCambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠TOEFL iBT 4.5 · Scale: new score scale (exams from 21 Jan 2026) · Language: English · 2027/28 · Alt overall min old scale: 80⁠TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865⁠
Prior educationStrength: Recommended · 2027/28 · Qualification: Secondary school diploma · Recommended subjects: Economics⁠
Programme · 13 with values
CampusDeventer⁠
QualificationBachelor of Arts⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration4 years⁠
Hours per weekUnit: Hours per week · Contact: 20 · Self study: 20⁠
InternshipOperational internship · Location: Netherlands or abroad · Year of study: 2⁠
Language of instructionEnglishInferred
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Official namesOfficial en: Tourism Management⁠
Structure180 ECTS · Phase: TM-EN Post propaedeutic year full time⁠60 ECTS · Phase: TM-EN First year⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
Teaching methodsPractical and group work · Share pct: 55⁠Study career counseling · Share pct: 10⁠Theory · Share pct: 35⁠

Institution record: Saxion University of Applied Sciences

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.