Bachelor's Degree in Criminology

Grado en CriminologíaTranslated

Universitat de Barcelona · Barcelona · Spain

A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in Catalan, Spanish and English, in Barcelona.

Tracks2 to choose from⁠82 of 1528 similar publish this
Final projectCredits: 6⁠292 of 1528 similar publish this
Places70 places⁠1168 of 1528 similar publish this
Price€17.69/ credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities
Next dateClasses start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027⁠Starts
LanguageCatalan, Spanish and English⁠
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 2 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

58 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 2
4 modules24 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 3
2 modules12 ECTS
2 modules12 ECTS
Year 4
1 module6 ECTS
Final project6 ECTSSemester not stated
StudyFinal projectYear known, semester not
What do you choose?

1 of 2 specialisations

Branches are the options the institution lists.

The options

  • Mención en Criminología Forense y Ejecución Penal (2009)
  • Mención en Seguridad y Prevención (2009)
When you choose: not stated
What are all the subjects?

All 58 modules

Year 1 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 8 modules · all required · 48 ECTS
ModuleECTS
6
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
6
· 2o semestre6
6
6
· 2o semestre6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 5 modules · 30 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Required6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
Required6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreThesis6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Modules · 25 modules · 90 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestre 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective6
· 2o semestreElective6
· 1r semestreElective6
· 1r semestreElective6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreInternship6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationGrado en Criminología⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Thesis / final project
  • Credits6⁠
  • RequiredYes⁠
Places70 places⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More research methods than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Criminology UB56
Criminology UCAM58
Criminology UCAM58
Law UCAM68
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More research methods, less society, ethics and law

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
20% here
9% typical
Research methods
9% here
1% typical

Less here than typical

Society, ethics and law
49% here
61% typical
Languages and communication
0% here
3% typical
Business and management
4% here
7% typical

About the same as typical: internship, thesis, maths and foundations, data and computing.

What is only here?

36 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Society, ethics and law

22
  • Forensic Criminology
  • Police Law
  • Gender Law and Policy
  • Environmental and Sustainability Law and Policy
  • Alternative Means of Conflict Resolution
  • Peace, Justice and Security in Globalized Societies
  • Judicial Psychology
  • Sociology of the Police
+14 more
  • Fundamentals of Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure
  • History, Society and Crime
  • Introduction to Political Science
  • Introduction to Psychology
  • Introduction to Public Law
  • Sociology of Law and Criminal Justice
  • International Criminal Cooperation
  • Public Policy
  • Crime, Media and Culture
  • Sexual and Gender-Based Crime
  • Educational and Social Intervention
  • Penology and Penitentiary Law
  • Security and Prevention Policies
  • Criminal Psychology

Specialist subjects

8
  • Theory of Crime
  • Cybercriminality
  • Criminal Procedure
  • Forms of Crime
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Restorative Justice
  • Prediction and Treatment of Delinquency
  • Criminal Typologies

Research methods

4
  • Scientific Methodology
  • Advanced Research Techniques
  • Qualitative Research Techniques
  • Quantitative Research Techniques

Business and management

2
  • Risk and Safety Analysis and Management
  • Prison Management
Where you'll study

Studying in Barcelona

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,731,649 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 1.2 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingARWU 2026: 151-200, world⁠
FacilitiesGymInferred, Library⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodMeal planInferred

The rest of what we hold on UB is on its page.

What it costs

At least €1,091.61 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €1,091.61 first year · 2026/27 · all nationalities · our sum

Tuition 2026/27 · 60 credits€1,061.40
Application fee€30.21

Not published: living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (1)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionAll applicants2026/27€17.69 / credit
ScholarshipsUnknown
Is that expensive?

Among 4 similar programmes, in euros / credit

This programme €18

Costs more than 0 of 3 similar programmes. Too few programmes to name a typical price (we need 5).

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 4, cheapest first
How to start

Starts: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027

When does it happen?
DeadlinesNot found on official pages
What do they ask for?
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 9.516 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

0 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Spain

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Criminology UBSimilarDouble Bachelor's Degree in Law + Criminology and Forensic Sciences NebrijaSimilarCriminology UCAM
Price€17.69 / credit · 2026/27Not publishedNot published
Duration4 years5 years4 years
LanguageCatalan, Spanish and EnglishSpanishSpanish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

UCAM · MurciaSpain

Criminology

CriminologíaTranslated

€5,200 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

52% society, ethics and law · 10% free electives

BachelorSpanish

Nebrija · Campus de la Politécnica y Ciencias Sociales en MadridSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Law

Grado en DerechoTranslated

€9,990 · year not stated · confirm with the source

70% society, ethics and law · 13% free electives

BachelorSpanish

Nebrija · Campus de la Politécnica y Ciencias Sociales en MadridSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Law (Online)

Grado en Derecho (online)Translated

€5,500 · year not stated · confirm with the source

70% society, ethics and law · 13% free electives

BachelorOnlineSpanish

UCAM · Sedes ExaminadorasSpain

Law

DerechoTranslated

€6,500 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

66% society, ethics and law · 13% business and management

BachelorOnlineSpanish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

74 facts from 2 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

74facts with a quote
2official pages
2fields marked unknown
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Bachelor's Degree in Criminology is a bachelor's programme in law at Universitat de Barcelona in Barcelona, Spain. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Catalan, Spanish and English.

The institution publishes 58 modules, of which 24 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are society, ethics and law (49%), free electives (14%) and research methods (9%).

It includes a final thesis and a choice of specialisations.

How much does Bachelor's Degree in Criminology cost?

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities.

When is the next deadline or start?

Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

Catalan, Spanish and English.

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Universitat de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 17 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 2 with values · 1 without
Language requirementNot found on official pages
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 9.516 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Programme · 11 with values
QualificationGrado en Criminología⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Duration4 years⁠
Language of instructionCatalan, Spanish and English⁠
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Places70 places⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 · Scope: Institution calendar · Applies to: All · Start date: 14 Sep 2026 · 2026/27 · Second term window: 1 Feb 2027; 8 Feb 2027Inferred
StructureFacultad de Derecho · Type: Managing centre⁠Credit distribution · Basic: 60 · Total: 240 · Thesis: 6 · Elective: 42 · Compulsory: 132 · Internship: 0⁠
Thesis / final projectCredits: 6 · Required: Yes⁠
TracksMención en Criminología Forense y Ejecución Penal (2009) · Type: Mention⁠Mención en Seguridad y Prevención (2009) · Type: Mention⁠

Institution record: Universitat de Barcelona

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.