A 4-semester master's programme, taught in German, English and Japanese, in Vienna.

Price€726.72/ semester · year not stated · non-EU Year not statedConfirm with the source
Next dateApply by · Non-EU citizens
LanguageGerman, English and Japanese⁠Requires A2 level
Duration4 semesters⁠

✓ 7 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

35 modules published

Across 2 years of study.

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
2 modules30 ECTS
2 modules30 ECTS
Year 2
Final project10 ECTS
Final project20 ECTS
StudyFinal projectYear known, semester not
What are all the subjects?

All 35 modules

Year 1 · 4 modules · all recommended path · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· Sem 115
· Sem 115
· Sem 215
· Sem 215

Source: senat.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 6 modules · all recommended path · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· Sem 310
· Sem 315
· Sem 420
· Sem 45
· Sem 35
· Sem 45

Source: senat.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

Advanced Japanese · 1 module · 15 ECTS
ModuleECTS
15

Source: studieren.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

Alternative group of compulsory modules: Cultural Studies Research on Japan · 2 modules · 30 ECTS
ModuleECTS
15
15

Source: studieren.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

Alternative group of compulsory modules: Social Science Research on Japan · 2 modules · 30 ECTS
ModuleECTS
15
15

Source: studieren.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

Modules · 20 modules · all module group · credits for 19 of 20
ModuleECTS
15
15
15
15
15
10
15
30
30
45
?
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester15
· winter_semester10

Source: studieren.univie.ac.at, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationMaster of Arts · Abbr: MA⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
Study modeNot found on official pages
DeliveryNot found on official pages
PlacesLimit: None⁠
What comes after?
6.3Average study duration semesters · November 2025
66Students total · November 2025
9Graduates past year · November 2025
€3,216Gross monthly income 3y after graduation · 2025
Where graduates work
Cultural and knowledge disseminationLiterary translation and text editing from JapaneseMedia and editorial work relating to JapanResearch and teaching
Codes and faculty
Code066 843⁠
Where you'll study

Studying in Vienna

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 2,028,289 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 1 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingHelp finding a room, no rooms of its ownInferred
RankingAcademic Ranking of World Universities (Shanghai Ranking) 2026: 101-150, world⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠, CanteenInferred

The rest of what we hold on Universität Wien is on its page.

What it costs

€726.72 / semester

What changes the price?

3 things that move it

Grant

Merit scholarship

Grant

Research scholarship

Offer

Discount

Every fee and condition published
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU/EEA citizens, chNot stated€363.36 / semester
TuitionNon-EU citizensNot stated€726.72 / semester
Student unionEU/EEA citizens, chNot stated€26.20 / semester
Student unionNon-EU citizensNot stated€26.20 / semester
Discounts
  • Citizenship waiverTuition · UA⁠
How to start

Apply by 7 Jan 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenAdmissionAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (3 dates)
Jan 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU citizens
Feb 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
Mar 2027
  • Admission
Is my language good enough?
German requirementA2 CEFR minimum
English requirementB2 CEFR minimum
Japanese requirementB2 CEFR minimum
All 4 accepted proofs
Stage: Application · CEFR from: A2 · Language: German
Stage: Application · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English
Stage: Application · CEFR from: B2 · Language: Japanese
Stage: Before admission · CEFR from: C1 · Language: German
What do they ask for?
Prior educationUnknown
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

3 of 5 similar publish a price

Similar: same type, country and language

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 3 more.

This programmeJapanology Universität WienSimilarBusiness and Economics WUSimilarBusiness, Economics and Social Sciences WU
PriceNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Duration4 semesters6 semesters6 semesters
LanguageGerman, English and JapaneseEnglishGerman
Next date16 Nov 2026Not published7 Jan 2027

1 of 5 publish a next date.

€9,000 / semester · 2026 · all nationalities

52% society, ethics and law · 10% business and management

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish

MODUL Vienna · ViennaAustria

BBA in Tourism and Hospitality Management

€9,000 / semester · 2026 · all nationalities

44% business and management · 8% maths and foundations

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
€9,000 / semester · 2026 · all nationalities

60% business and management · 5% maths and foundations

BachelorSemester abroadTaught in EnglishEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

71 facts from 7 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

71facts with a quote
7official pages
2fields marked unknown
All 7 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Japanology is a master's programme at Universität Wien in Vienna, Austria. It takes 4 semesters. It carries 120 ECTS credits. Teaching is in German, English and Japanese.

The institution publishes 35 modules. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are research methods (31%), society, ethics and law (15%) and free electives (8%).

How much does Japanology cost?

€726.72 / semester · year not stated · non-EU. Year not stated: confirm with the source.

When is the next deadline or start?

16 Nov 2026 (Apply by · Non-EU citizens).

What language is it taught in?

German, English and Japanese (Requires A2 level).

How long does it take?

4 semesters.

Where is it?

Universität Wien, Vienna, Austria.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 16 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values
DiscountsKind: Citizenship waiver · Covers: Tuition · Citizenship: UAInferred
Admission · 1 with values
Language requirementStage: Application · CEFR from: A2 · Language: German⁠Stage: Application · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English⁠Stage: Application · CEFR from: B2 · Language: Japanese⁠Stage: Before admission · CEFR from: C1 · Language: German⁠
Programme · 9 with values · 2 without
Code066 843⁠
QualificationMaster of Arts · Abbr: MA⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
Duration4 semesters⁠
Language of instructionGerman, English and JapaneseInferred
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
LocationVienna, AustriaInferred
Outcomes6.3 · As of: November 2025 · Metric: Average study duration semesters⁠66 · As of: November 2025 · Metric: Students total⁠9 · As of: November 2025 · Metric: Graduates past year⁠Kind: Career field · Field: Cultural and knowledge dissemination⁠Kind: Career field · Field: Literary translation and text editing from Japanese⁠Kind: Career field · Field: Media and editorial work relating to Japan⁠Kind: Career field · Field: Research and teaching⁠€3,216 · 2025⁠
PlacesLimit: None⁠
Study modeNot found on official pages

Institution record: Universität Wien

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.