A 4-year doctoral programme, taught in English, in Brno.

PriceNot foundNot found on official pages
Next dateAcademic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty⁠Starts
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires CEFR
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 26 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

22 modules published

Across 3 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
Final project0 ECTS
Final project0 ECTS
Year 2
Final project0 ECTS
Final project0 ECTS
Year 3
Final project0 ECTS
Final project0 ECTS
Year 4
Year 4Not stated
Final projectYear known, semester not
How does study run?

7 lines through 3 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From society, ethics and law to thesis

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsSociety, ethics and lawLanguages and communicationResearch methodsProjects and labsInternshipThesis
Year 1Year 2Year 3
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
  • Specialist subjects
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
What are all the subjects?

All 22 modules

Year 1 · 9 modules
ModuleTypeECTS
· summerCompulsory0
· winterCompulsory elective0
· summerCompulsory elective0
· winterCompulsory0
· summerCompulsory0
· winterCompulsory0
· winterCompulsory0
· summerCompulsory0
· summerCompulsory0

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 8 modules · all compulsory
ModuleECTS
· winter0
· summer0
· winter0
· winter0
· summer0
· winter0
· summer0
· summer0

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 4 modules · all compulsory
ModuleECTS
· summer0
· winter0
· summer0
· winter0

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Modules · 1 module · all compulsory
ModuleECTS
0

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelDoktor · EQF 8, ISCED 8⁠
QualificationPh.D.⁠
CreditsUnknown
Study modePart time⁠
DeliveryHybridInferred
Accreditation
  • BodyNational⁠
  • Valid from19 Nov 2024⁠
  • Valid until19 Nov 2034⁠
Codes and faculty
CodeVUD_K_EN⁠
Registry codeP0213D310012⁠
FacultyFaculty of Fine Arts⁠
Subject areas
  • AreaArt⁠
  • TopicWithout thematic area⁠
  • Share percent100⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More research methods than 1 of 2 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeResearch in Art and Design Vysoké učení technické v Brně21
Research in Art and Design Vysoké učení technické v Brně21
PhD in Transformation Studies. Art x Science Johannes Kepler Universität Linz17

4 of 6 similar programmes publish too few modules to compare.

  • Specialist subjects
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
Is this a typical programme?

More research methods, less thesis

Share here against the average of 2 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Research methods
14% here
7% typical
Specialist subjects
29% here
24% typical
Projects and labs
10% here
6% typical

Less here than typical

Thesis
33% here
52% typical

About the same as typical: internship, society, ethics and law, languages and communication.

Which year differs most?

Close to similar programmes each year

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

Close to similar programmes

This programme

Year 2

Close to similar programmes

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
Same name, same content?

Close to Vysoké učení technické v Brně throughout

Research in Art and Design here and at Vysoké učení technické v Brně. The wider the gap, the less alike the mix of themes that year. Our calculation by module titles.

Year 1100% same mix
Year 2100% same mix

Left line: this programme. Right line: Vysoké učení technické v Brně.

Where you'll study

Studying in Brno

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 402,739 in 2025
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingTHE World University Rankings 2027: 1201-1400, world⁠
FacilitiesGym⁠, Laboratories⁠, Library⁠, Music rooms⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠
SupportCounselling⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student union⁠

The rest of what we hold on Vysoké učení technické v Brně is on its page.

What it costs

Not found on official pages

What changes the price?

3 things that move it

Grant

Accommodation scholarship

Grant

Merit and exceptional-case scholarships

−CZK 10,000

BUTalent

What does it cost?

Not found on official pages.

Notify me
How to start

Starts: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty

When does it happen?
DeadlinesNot found on official pages
Is my language good enough?
English requirementB2 CEFR minimum
What do they ask for?
Prior educationUnknown
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

3 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, all countries

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeResearch in Art and Design Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarResearch in Art and Design Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarPhD in Transformation Studies. Art x Science Johannes Kepler Universität Linz
PriceNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Duration4 years4 yearsNot published
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

Greenwich · LondonUnited Kingdom

Art & Design, MPhil/PhD

£5,238–£18,700 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship ≈ €6,276–€22,406
3 yr
length
DoctorateScholarshipsEnglish

Greenwich · LondonUnited Kingdom

Creative & Critical Writing, MPhil/PhD

£5,238–£18,700 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship ≈ €6,276–€22,406
3 yr
length
DoctorateScholarshipsEnglish

Greenwich · LondonUnited Kingdom

Film and Screen Practices, MPhil/PhD

£5,238–£18,700 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship ≈ €6,276–€22,406
3 yr
length
DoctorateScholarshipsEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

57 facts from 26 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

57facts with a quote
26official pages
2fields marked unknown
All 26 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Research in Art and Design is a doctoral programme in arts and design at Vysoké učení technické v Brně in Brno, Czechia. It takes 4 years. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 22 modules, of which 2 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are thesis (33%), research methods (14%) and projects and labs (10%).

How much does Research in Art and Design cost?

Not found on official pages.

When is the next deadline or start?

Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires CEFR).

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Vysoké učení technické v Brně, Brno, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 18 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 0 with values · 1 without
Tuition feeNot found on official pages
Admission · 1 with values
Language requirementCEFR · Scope: university-wide guidance; faculty rules may differ · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English · Ielts range: 5.5-6.5Inferred
Programme · 13 with values
AccreditationNational · Valid from: 19 Nov 2024 · Valid until: 19 Nov 2034⁠
CodeVUD_K_EN⁠
QualificationPh.D.⁠
DeliveryHybridInferred
Duration4 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Fine Arts⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelDoktor · EQF 8, ISCED 8⁠
LocationFaculty of Fine Arts, BrnoInferred
Registry codeP0213D310012⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty · Scope: Institution calendar · Year end: 31 Aug 2027 · Applies to: All · Start date: 1 Sep 2026 · Start kind: Academic year · 2026/27Inferred
Study modePart time⁠
Subject areasArea: Art · Topic: Without thematic area · Share percent: 100⁠

Institution record: Vysoké učení technické v Brně

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.