A 3-year bachelor's programme, taught in English, in Brno.

Tracks2 to choose from⁠10 of 185 similar publish this
AccreditationNational · Valid from: 28 May 2019⁠77 of 185 similar publish this
Price€1,000–€4,500/ year · 2026/27 · depending on citizenship
Next dateAcademic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty⁠Starts
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires CEFR
Duration3 years⁠

✓ 75 official sources · checked 1 Nov 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Students choose between two specialisations, Electronics and Communication Technologies, or Power Systems and Automation.⁠ Second-year compulsory courses such as Analog Electronics, Analysis of Signals and Design of Electronic Circuits cover circuits and signals, while Applied Electromagnetism and electives like Antennas and Lines and Digital Electronics 2 add field and communication topics.⁠ A 10-ECTS bachelor thesis ends the programme.⁠

Run by the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Communication in Brno, the full-time bachelor takes 3 years and 159 or 160 ECTS credits depending on the specialisation, taught in English.⁠ The programme is academically oriented.⁠ Tuition in 2027/28 is €1,000 per year for EU students and €4,500 per year for non-EU students.⁠

What you will study

100 modules published

Across 3 years of study.

Where will you be?

6 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
12 modules
10 modules
Year 2
10 modules
11 modules
Year 3
Final project2 ECTS
Final project10 ECTS
StudyFinal projectYear known, semester not
What do you choose?

1 of 2 specialisations

Branches are the options the institution lists.

The options

  • Electronics and Communication Technologies
  • Power Systems and Automation
When you choose: not stated
How does study run?

6 lines through 3 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From maths and foundations to data and computing

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingBusiness and managementLanguages and communicationThesisFree electives
Year 1Year 2Year 3
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Languages and communication
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 100 modules

Year 1 · 22 modules · all compulsory
ModuleECTS
· winter6
· winter6
· summer7
· summer7
· summer6
· winter6
· summer6
· winter7
· winter7
· summer6
· summer6
· winter3
· winter3
· winter5
· summer6
· summer5
· summer6
· summer5
· winter3
· winter3
· winter5
· winter5

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 21 modules · all compulsory
ModuleECTS
· winter6
· winter6
· summer6
· summer6
· summer6
· summer6
· summer5
· summer5
· summer6
· winter6
· winter5
· winter6
· winter6
· winter6
· winter6
· summer5
· winter6
· summer6
· summer6
· summer6
· winter5

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 26 modules
ModuleTypeECTS
· winterCompulsory elective5
· winterCompulsory elective5
· summerThesis10
· summerThesis10
· summerCompulsory elective6
· winterCompulsory elective5
· winterCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory elective6
· winterCompulsory elective6
· winterCompulsory elective5
· winterCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory elective5
· summerCompulsory elective5
· winterCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory elective6
· winterCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory6
· winterThesis2
· winterThesis2
· winterCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory elective5
· summerCompulsory elective6

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Electronics and Communication Technologies · 20 modules · all elective · 97 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· summer7
· summer6
· winter6
· winter5
· summer5
· winter2
· summer7
· winter2
· winter2
· summer5
· summer5
· summer5
· summer5
· summer4
· winter5
· summer5
· winter6
· summer6
· summer3
· summer6

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Power Systems and Automation · 11 modules · all elective · 45 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· winter2
· winter2
· winter2
· summer5
· summer5
· summer4
· winter5
· summer5
· winter6
· summer6
· summer3

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBc.⁠
Credits159 ECTS · Electronics and Communication Technologies⁠160 ECTS · Power Systems and Automation⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Accreditation
  • BodyNational⁠
  • Valid from28 May 2019⁠
  • Valid until28 May 2029⁠
Codes and faculty
CodeBPA-ELE⁠
Registry codeB0788A060001⁠
FacultyFaculty of Electrical Engineering and Communication⁠
Subject areas
  • AreaElectrical Engineering⁠
  • TopicWithout thematic area⁠
  • Share percent100⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More data and computing than 5 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeElectrical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně100
Fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně48
SMART Engineering VŠB-TUO40
Safety and Security VŠB-TUO41
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More data and computing than usual

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Data and computing
15% here
5% typical

Less here than typical

Specialist subjects
30% here
45% typical

About the same as typical: languages and communication, maths and foundations, thesis, business and management, internship, society, ethics and law, projects and labs.

Which year differs most?

Year 3 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Same name, same content?

Furthest from VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava in year 1

Electrical Engineering here and at VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava. The wider the gap, the less alike the mix of themes that year. Our calculation by module titles.

Year 161% same mix more maths and foundations here
Year 264% same mix more data and computing here
Year 366% same mix more thesis here

Left line: this programme. Right line: VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava.

What is only here?

39 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Specialist subjects

18
  • Analog Electronics
  • Design of Electronic Circuits
  • Electrical Power Distribution
  • Diagnostics and Testing of Electronic Systems
  • Electrical Drives
  • Electrical Machines
  • Materials for Electrotechnics
  • Measurement in Electrical Engineering
+10 more
  • Analog Integrated Circuits Design
  • Digital Integrated Circuits Design
  • Industrial Automation
  • Printed Circuits and Surface Mount Technology
  • Sensors
  • Energy Consumption and Use
  • Technical Documentation
  • 3D Modeling and Simulation
  • Electrical Power Generation
  • Power Electronics

Data and computing

8
  • Analysis of Signals
  • Digital Electronics 2
  • Mobile Communication
  • Network architecture
  • Computers and Programming 1
  • Computer Programming 1
  • The C++ Programming Language
  • Network Operating Systems

Maths and foundations

6
  • Applied Electromagnetism
  • Seminar of Physics
  • Nuclear Energetic Equipment
  • Mathematical Seminar
  • Vector and Matrix Algebra
  • Selected Parts from Mathematics I

Languages and communication

5
  • Communication Technology
  • Communication Systems
  • Transmission Media
  • Czech language 1
  • Presentation Skills in English

Projects and labs

1
  • Practical Chemistry for Electrical Engineers

Business and management

1
  • Technological projecting and logistic
Where you'll study

Studying in Brno

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 402,739 in 2025
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingTHE World University Rankings 2027: 1201-1400, world⁠
FacilitiesGym⁠, Laboratories⁠, Library⁠, Music rooms⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠
SupportCounselling⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student union⁠

The rest of what we hold on Vysoké učení technické v Brně is on its page.

What it costs

At least €4,500 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €4,500 first year · 2026/27 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€4,500

Not published: application fee, visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (4)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU citizens2026/27€1,000 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2026/27€4,500 / year
TuitionEU citizens2027/28€1,000 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2027/28€4,500 / year
What changes the price?

4 things that move it

×4.5
EU/EEA€1,000
non-EU€4,500

Your passport changes the rate.

Grant

Accommodation scholarship

Grant

Merit and exceptional-case scholarships

−CZK 10,000

BUTalent

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 41 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €4,500

Costs more than 2 of 40 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €16,869 and €20,669.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 41, cheapest first
Engineering and Technology with Foundation Year BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,445
Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,774
This programme2026/27≈ €4,500
Mechanical Engineering (Saxion University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €9,360
Fashion & Textile Technologies (AMFI - Amsterdam Fashion Institute) (Hogeschool van Amsterdam)2026/27≈ €10,648
Automotive Engineering (HAN University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €10,940
Electrical and Electronic Engineering (HAN University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €10,940
Embedded Systems Engineering (HAN University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €10,940
Mechanical Engineering (HAN University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €10,940
Advanced Technology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Chemical Science & Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Electrical Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Industrial Design Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Industrial Engineering & Management (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Mechanical Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Electronic Systems Engineering (Top-Up) BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €19,410
Engineering Management (Top-Up) BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €19,410
Mechanical Systems Engineering (Top-Up) BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €19,410
Aeronautical Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Biomedical Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Electrical and Electronic Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Engineering Management BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
General Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Mechatronics Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Product Design Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Railway Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
BA (Hons) Electronic Music Production (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Electronic Music Production with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BEng (Hons) Electrical and Electronic Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BEng (Hons) Electrical and Electronic Engineering with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Sound Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Sound Engineering with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
Chemical Engineering, BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Electrical and Electronic Engineering, BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Electrical and Electronic Engineering (Extended), BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Mechanical Engineering, BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Mechanical Engineering (Extended), BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Systems Engineering, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
BEng (Hons) Aerospace Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
Electrical Power Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
And the whole degree?

≈ €13,500

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 31 Jan 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication endsAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (1 date)
Jan 2027
  • Application ends
Deadline ruleApplication · Round: 1 · 2026 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026Inferred
Deadline ruleApplication · Round: 1 · 2027 · End date: 31 Jan 2027Inferred
Is my language good enough?
English requirementB2 CEFR minimum
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyUnknown
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCEFR · Scope: university-wide guidance; faculty rules may differ · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English · Ielts range: 5.5-6.5Inferred
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineApplication · Round: 1 · 2026 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026Inferred
    +1 more
    • Application · Round: 1 · 2027 · End date: 31 Jan 2027Inferred
  8. 8
    StartUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

6 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Czechia

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeElectrical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarElectrical Engineering VŠB-TUOSimilarMining of Mineral Resources VŠB-TUO
Price€4,500 / year · 2026/27CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27
Duration3 years3 years3 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

Vysoké učení technické v Brně · BrnoCzechia

Fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering

€3,000 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA

35% maths and foundations · 17% free electives

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

SMART Engineering

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

21% maths and foundations · 8% data and computing

BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

Materials Engineering

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

29% maths and foundations · 9% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

Safety and Security

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

16% maths and foundations · 14% thesis

BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

226 facts from 75 official sources

Checked 3 days ago.

226facts with a quote
75official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 75 sources
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/branch/183075431 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/branch/183084631 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes1130 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/programme/9849731 Oct 2026
vut.cz/eprihlaska/en/zadani/vybrat-obor/fakulta/531 Nov 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes?data[rok]=2027231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303955231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303973231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304003231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304005231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304008231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303960231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304002231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304004231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303958231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303956231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303968231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303986231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303985231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303995231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303963231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303992231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304009231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303982231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303976231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304010231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303981231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303953231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303972231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304001231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303978231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303979231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304012231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303984231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304006231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304007231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/305138231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/305144231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/307598231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/305137231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303967131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303994131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303980131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303961131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303962131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303989131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303998131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303991131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303957131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303950131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303954131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303997131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303996131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303951131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303952131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303971131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303993131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303974131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303966131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303999131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303964131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303990131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303975131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303970131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303948131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303983131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/304000131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303969131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303959131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303977131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/303965131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/305136131 Oct 2026
fekt.vut.cz/en/home130 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/schedule131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/admission-office/faq130 Oct 2026
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Electrical Engineering is a bachelor's programme in engineering and technology at Vysoké učení technické v Brně in Brno, Czechia. It takes 3 years. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 100 modules, of which 43 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are maths and foundations (22%), data and computing (15%) and free electives (15%).

It includes a choice of specialisations.

How much does Electrical Engineering cost?

€4,500 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU citizens: €1,000; Non-EU citizens: €4,500).

When is the next deadline or start?

Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires CEFR).

How long does it take?

3 years.

Where is it?

Vysoké učení technické v Brně, Brno, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 22 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 2 with values
How to applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
Language requirementCEFR · Scope: university-wide guidance; faculty rules may differ · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English · Ielts range: 5.5-6.5Inferred
Programme · 16 with values
AccreditationNational · Valid from: 28 May 2019 · Valid until: 28 May 2029⁠
CodeBPA-ELE⁠
QualificationBc.⁠
Credits159 ECTS · Electronics and Communication Technologies⁠160 ECTS · Power Systems and Automation⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration3 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Electrical Engineering and Communication⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
LocationFaculty of Electrical Engineering and Communication, BrnoInferred
ProfileAcademically oriented⁠
Registry codeB0788A060001⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty · Scope: Institution calendar · Year end: 31 Aug 2027 · Applies to: All · Start date: 1 Sep 2026 · Start kind: Academic year · 2026/27Inferred
Study modeFull time⁠
Subject areasArea: Electrical Engineering · Topic: Without thematic area · Share percent: 100⁠
TracksElectronics and Communication Technologies · Kind: Specialisation⁠Power Systems and Automation · Kind: Specialisation⁠

Institution record: Vysoké učení technické v Brně

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.