A 2-year master's programme, taught in English, in Brno.

Price€4,900–€5,800/ year · 2027/28 · depending on citizenship
Next dateAcademic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty⁠Starts
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires CEFR
Duration2 years⁠

✓ 60 official sources · checked 1 Nov 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

109 modules published

Across 2 years of study.

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
43 modules
28 modules
Year 2
Final project15 ECTS
Final project30 ECTS
StudyFinal projectYear known, semester not
How does study run?

5 lines through 2 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From projects and labs to society, ethics and law

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingBusiness and managementSociety, ethics and lawLanguages and communicationResearch methodsProjects and labsThesisFree electives
Year 1Year 2
Year 1
Year 2
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 109 modules

Year 1 · 71 modules
ModuleTypeECTS
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory elective3
· summerElective3
· winterElective1
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective2
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· summerElective3
· summerCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory2
· summerElective2
· winterElective2
· summerElective3
· winterElective2
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective2
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· summerElective3
· summerCompulsory4
· summerCompulsory elective15
· summerElective15
· summerCompulsory elective15
· summerElective15
· summerCompulsory elective15
· summerElective15
· summerCompulsory elective15
· summerElective15
· summerCompulsory elective15
· summerElective15
· summerCompulsory elective15
· winterElective2
· summerElective2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· winterElective2
· summerCompulsory2
· winterElective2
· summerElective1
· summerCompulsory2
· summerCompulsory2
· summerElective2
· winterElective1
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· winterElective2
· summerElective2
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· summerElective3

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 38 modules
ModuleTypeECTS
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory elective3
· winterElective1
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory elective30
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory2
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· winterElective2
· winterElective2
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory elective3
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterCompulsory elective15
· winterElective2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· summerCompulsory2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· summerCompulsory2
· winterElective1
· winterCompulsory2
· winterCompulsory elective2
· winterElective3
· winterElective3
· winterCompulsory elective3

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMagistr · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationIng. arch.⁠
Credits18 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Accreditation
  • BodyNational⁠
  • Valid from1 Mar 2022⁠
  • Valid until1 Mar 2032⁠
Codes and faculty
CodeNE_A+U⁠
Registry codeN0731P010003⁠
FacultyFaculty of Architecture⁠
Subject areas
  • AreaArchitecture and Urbanism⁠
  • TopicWithout thematic area⁠
  • Share percent100⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More projects and labs than 5 of 5 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeArchitecture and Urban Design Vysoké učení technické v Brně53
Integrative Urban Studies Vysoké učení technické v Brně30
Geoinformatics VŠB-TUO27
Civil Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně20
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More projects and labs, less data and computing

Share here against the average of 5 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Projects and labs
38% here
19% typical
Research methods
19% here
2% typical
Thesis
14% here
6% typical

Less here than typical

Specialist subjects
4% here
42% typical
Data and computing
2% here
8% typical
Society, ethics and law
3% here
7% typical
Maths and foundations
1% here
4% typical

About the same as typical: languages and communication, business and management.

Which year differs most?

Year 1 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 2

More data and computing 5% against 0% at most

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What is only here?

26 modules not found at 5 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Projects and labs

8
  • Specialized Studio A2 – Design of Buildings
  • Specialized Studio A3 – Urban and Landscape Design
  • Specialized Studio A4 – Experimental Design
  • Specialized Studio A5 – Heritage Care and Reconstruction
  • Specialized Studio B2 – Design of Buildings
  • Specialized Studio B3 – Urban and Landscape Design
  • Specialized Studio B4 – Experimental Design
  • Specialized Studio B5 – Heritage Care and Reconstruction

Research methods

4
  • Specialized Studio A1 – Design Research and Build
  • Specialized Studio A6 – Research, Theory and Criticism
  • Specialized Studio B1 – Design Research and Build
  • Specialized Studio B6 – Research, Theory and Criticism

Society, ethics and law

3
  • History of Architecture in Czech Lands
  • Management and valorize of cultural heritage
  • Socially Engaged Art in Japan

Languages and communication

3
  • Photography and Architecture
  • Interpretation of Architecture 2
  • Intercultural Communication

Specialist subjects

3
  • Structures and Indoor Environment of Buildings
  • Theory in Architecture
  • Landscape Design

Data and computing

3
  • Computer Skills – 3D CAD
  • Computer Skills – Parametric Design
  • Computer Skills – Creative Programming
Where you'll study

Studying in Brno

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 402,739 in 2025
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingTHE World University Rankings 2027: 1201-1400, world⁠
FacilitiesGym⁠, Laboratories⁠, Library⁠, Music rooms⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠
SupportCounselling⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student union⁠

The rest of what we hold on Vysoké učení technické v Brně is on its page.

What it costs

At least €5,800 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €5,800 first year · 2027/28 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2027/28€5,800

Not published: application fee, visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (4)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU citizens2026/27€4,600 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2026/27€4,600 / year
TuitionEU citizens2027/28€4,900 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2027/28€5,800 / year
What changes the price?

4 things that move it

×1.2
EU/EEA€4,900
non-EU€5,800

Your passport changes the rate.

Grant

Accommodation scholarship

Grant

Merit and exceptional-case scholarships

−CZK 10,000

BUTalent

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 29 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €5,800

Costs more than 0 of 28 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €20,633 and €22,320.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 29, cheapest first
This programme2027/28≈ €5,800
Master Interior Architecture: Research + Design (Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €13,502
Architecture (ARB/RIBA PART 2) MArch (University of East London)2026/27≈ €19,195
Civil Engineering (Integrated Masters) MEng (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Professional Landscape Architecture with Conversion MA (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,058
Architecture and Urbanism MA (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Interior Architecture and Design MA (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Professional Landscape Architecture MA (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Civil Engineering MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Civil Engineering with Environmental Management MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Civil Engineering with Sustainability MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Construction Engineering Management MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Robotic Construction MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Structural Engineering MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
MSc Civil and Environmental Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Civil Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Civil Engineering with Project Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Construction Project Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Structural Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
Architecture Part 2, MArch (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,807
Civil Engineering & Management (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Construction Management & Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Civil Engineering, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Construction Project Management, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Landscape Architecture, MA (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Landscape Architecture, MLA (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Civil Engineering BEng (Hons) / MEng (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Civil Engineering with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Construction Project Management With Industrial Placement, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
And the whole degree?

≈ €11,600

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 31 Mar 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication endsAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (1 date)
Mar 2027
  • Application ends
Deadline ruleApplication · Round: 1 · End date: 31 Mar 2027 · 2005/36⁠
Deadline ruleApplication · Round: 1 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026 · 2005/36⁠
Is my language good enough?
English requirementB2 CEFR minimum
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyUnknown
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCEFR · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsEntrance exam: Exam⁠
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineApplication · Round: 1 · End date: 31 Mar 2027 · 2005/36⁠
    +1 more
    • Application · Round: 1 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026 · 2005/36⁠
  8. 8
    StartUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 5 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Czechia

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 3 more.

This programmeArchitecture and Urban Design Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarIntegrative Urban Studies Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarArchitecture and Construction VŠB-TUO
Price€5,800 / year · 2027/28€4,000 / year · 2026/27CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27
Duration2 years2 years2 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 5 publish a next date.

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

17% projects and labs · 16% thesis

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

Geoinformatics

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

25% data and computing · 12% free electives

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

Vysoké učení technické v Brně · BrnoCzechia

Civil Engineering

€3,500 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

9% maths and foundations · 5% society, ethics and law

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

193 facts from 60 official sources

Checked 3 days ago.

193facts with a quote
60official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 60 sources
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/branch/190556031 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes930 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/programme/9749631 Oct 2026
vut.cz/eprihlaska/en/zadani/vybrat-obor/fakulta/651 Nov 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301899431 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301976331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301952331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301940331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301988331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301991331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301912331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302009331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301977331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301981331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302012331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302010331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/311337331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301954331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301854331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301943331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301896331 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes?data[rok]=2027231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302018231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301985231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301938231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301949231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301936231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301906231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301892231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301948231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301898231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302127231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302029231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302120231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302053231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302162231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302144231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301941230 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302000231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302001231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301971231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301957231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302003231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302123131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301994131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302135131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302027131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302034131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302105131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302076131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301996131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302187131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/302129131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301962131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301923130 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301997131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301944131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/301903130 Oct 2026
fa.vutbr.cz/default.aspx?lang=en130 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/schedule131 Oct 2026
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Architecture and Urban Design is a master's programme in architecture and building at Vysoké učení technické v Brně in Brno, Czechia. It takes 2 years. It carries 18 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 109 modules, of which 95 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are projects and labs (38%), research methods (19%) and free electives (16%).

How much does Architecture and Urban Design cost?

€5,800 / year · 2027/28 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU citizens: €4,900; Non-EU citizens: €5,800).

When is the next deadline or start?

Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires CEFR).

How long does it take?

2 years.

Where is it?

Vysoké učení technické v Brně, Brno, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 22 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 3 with values
How to applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
Admission testsEntrance exam: Exam⁠
Language requirementCEFR · CEFR from: B2 · Language: English⁠
Programme · 15 with values
AccreditationNational · Valid from: 1 Mar 2022 · Valid until: 1 Mar 2032⁠
CodeNE_A+U⁠
QualificationIng. arch.⁠
Credits18 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration2 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Architecture⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelMagistr · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
LocationFaculty of Architecture, BrnoInferred
ProfileProfessionally oriented⁠
Registry codeN0731P010003⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty · Scope: Institution calendar · Year end: 31 Aug 2027 · Applies to: All · Start date: 1 Sep 2026 · Start kind: Academic year · 2026/27Inferred
Study modeFull time⁠
Subject areasArea: Architecture and Urbanism · Topic: Without thematic area · Share percent: 100⁠

Institution record: Vysoké učení technické v Brně

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.