A 3-year bachelor's programme, taught in English, in Prague.

Specialisations3 to choose from⁠2 of 185 similar publish this
Final projectFinal state examination: Yes⁠32 of 185 similar publish this
Price€4,200–€7,500/ year · 2027/28 · depending on citizenship
Next dateApply by
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires IELTS 7
Duration3 years⁠

✓ 19 official sources · checked 29 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Mathematics dominates the first year: Discrete Mathematics, Linear Algebra 1 and 2, Mathematical Analysis 1 and Propositional and Predicate Logic sit next to Programming 1 and Database Systems.⁠ Probability and Statistics 1 and Combinatorics and Graph Theory 1 add more theory, and the first year is common to everyone.⁠ From year two students pick one of 3 specialisations: Artificial Intelligence, Databases and Web, or General Computer Science.⁠

Offered by the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, this full-time, on-campus English-language bachelor takes three years and 180 ECTS credits.⁠ A thesis and a final state examination complete the degree.⁠ Entry requires completed secondary education and English at C1 level, shown for example by IELTS 7, Duolingo 130 or Cambridge C1 Advanced.⁠ Applications are assessed from documents, with a deadline of 30 April 2027.⁠

What you will study

25 modules published

Where will you be?

6 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
9 modules31 ECTS
8 modules33 ECTS
Year 2
Year 2Not stated
Year 3
Year 3Not stated
StudyYear known, semester not
What do you choose?

1 of 3 specialisations

Branches are the options the institution lists.

The options

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Databases and Web
  • General Computer Science
When you choose: not stated
What are all the subjects?

All 25 modules

Year 1 · 17 modules · 64 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Optional3
Optional3
Compulsory5
Compulsory5
Compulsory5
Compulsory5
Optional2
Compulsory5
Compulsory5
Compulsory4
Compulsory3
Compulsory3
Compulsory5
Compulsory4
Compulsory5
Elective1
Elective1

Source: mff.cuni.cz, checked 25 Oct 2026

Modules · 8 modules · all compulsory · 40 ECTS
ModuleECTS
5
5
5
5
4
6
5
5

Source: mff.cuni.cz, checked 25 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor · Title: Bachelor · Degree: Bc.⁠
Credits180 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Thesis / final project
  • RequiredYes⁠
  • Final state examinationYes⁠
Codes and faculty
Programme code
  • B0613A140007⁠
  • Programme nameComputer Science⁠
FacultyFaculty of Mathematics and Physics⁠
Curriculum yearValid for intake from: 2019Inferred
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More maths and foundations than 3 of 4 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeComputer Science Charles University25
Informatics CTU Prague24
Computer Science VŠB-TUO80

2 of 6 similar programmes publish too few modules to compare.

  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More maths and foundations, less business and management

Share here against the average of 4 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
16% here
5% typical
Maths and foundations
26% here
19% typical

Less here than typical

Business and management
0% here
8% typical

About the same as typical: society, ethics and law, data and computing, thesis, languages and communication, projects and labs, research methods.

What is only here?

13 modules not found at 4 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Data and computing

6
  • Combinatorics and Graph Theory 1
  • Programming 1
  • Introduction to Algorithms
  • Principles of Computers
  • Computer Systems
  • Algorithms and Data Structures 1

Specialist subjects

3
  • Propositional and Predicate Logic
  • Introduction to Networking
  • Introduction to Linux

Languages and communication

1
  • Czech Language Course 1

Maths and foundations

1
  • Mathematical skills

Projects and labs

1
  • Individual Software Project

Society, ethics and law

1
  • Physical Education I
Where you'll study

Studying in Prague

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,397,880 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 0.2 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠ · Room guaranteed in the first yearInferred
RankingQS World University Rankings 2026: #273, world⁠
FacilitiesGymInferred, Sports fieldsInferred, Sports hallInferred, Swimming poolInferred, Tennis courtsInferred, Library⁠
FoodCanteenInferred

The rest of what we hold on Charles University is on its page.

What it costs

At least €7,500 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €7,500 first year · 2027/28 · all nationalities · our sum

Tuition 2027/28€7,500

Not published: application fee and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (3)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionAll applicants2027/28€7,500 / year
ApplicationAll applicants2027/28CZK 1,500 one-time
≈ €62
TuitionUA, EU/EEA citizens2027/28€4,200 / year
ScholarshipsUnknown
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

×1.8
specific applicants€4,200
all nationalities€7,500

Your passport changes the rate.

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 109 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €7,500

Costs more than 6 of 108 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €19,770 and €21,537.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 109, cheapest first
Applied Computer Science (Hanze University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €2,694
Software Engineering BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,774
Economic Data Science (Vysoká škola ekonomická v Praze)2027/28≈ €6,000
Grado en Communication Networks and Systems (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €6,129
Grado en Computer Science and Technology (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €6,129
BSc (Hons) Business Analytics and Artificial Intelligence with Foundation Year (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €6,902
This programme2027/28≈ €7,500
Applied Computing (Distance Learning) (Top-Up) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €7,818
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Applied Data Science) (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Applied Data Science) (Top Up) (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Top Up) (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
BSc (Hons) Information Technology (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
BSc (Hons) Information Technology (Top Up) (Online) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €9,058
Applied Computer Science (Saxion University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €9,360
Applied Computer Science (The Hague University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €10,528
Information Technology (NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences)2027/28≈ €10,630
Computing with Foundation Year BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €11,730
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (University of New York in Prague)2026/27≈ €12,794
Information Technology (Venlo) (Fontys University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €13,080
Business Information Technology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Technical Computer Science (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €16,869
Mechatronics and Computer Systems Engineering BEng (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Applied Computing (Top-Up) BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Cloud Computing BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Computer Science BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Computer Science (Web and Mobile Technologies) BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Computing for Business BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Cyber Security and Networks BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Data Science and Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Computer Science (Top-Up) (London) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €20,609
BSc (Hons) Artificial Intelligence (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Artificial Intelligence with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Audio Software Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Audio Software Engineering with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Bioinformatics Genomics (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Bioinformatics Genomics with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Biomedical Informatics (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Biomedical Informatics with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Business Analytics (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Business Analytics with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Business Computing (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Business Computing with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Computer Games Technology (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Computer Games Technology with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Computer Science with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Cyber Security (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Cyber Security with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Data Science (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Data Science with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Information Technology (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Information Technology Management for Business (ITMB) (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Information Technology Management for Business with Foundation Year (ITMB) (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Information Technology with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Mathematics and Computing (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Mathematics and Computing with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
Computer Science and Advanced Technologies (Top-Up) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €21,268
BEng (Hons) Robotics and Artificial Intelligence (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Applied Computing and Artificial Intelligence (Top Up) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Business Analytics and Artificial Intelligence (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Artificial Intelligence) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Cyber Security and Networks) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (top-up) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Data Science (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Digital Technologies for Animation, Games & Immersion (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Information Technology (top-up) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Mathematics with Computer Science (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (Software Engineering) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
BSc (Hons) Information Technology (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
Accounting and Business Analytics, BA Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Applied Artificial Intelligence for Engineering, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Business Computing, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computer Engineering, BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computer Science (Artificial Intelligence), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computer Science, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computer Science (Cyber Security), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computer Science (Data Science), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computing (Artificial Intelligence), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computing, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computing, BSc Hons (Extended) (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computing (Data Science), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Computing (Information Systems), BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Cyber Security and Digital Forensics, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Data Science, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Mathematics and Computer Science, BSc Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Software Engineering, BEng Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
BSc (Hons) Computer Science (University of Sunderland)2027/28≈ €22,166
Computer Science BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €22,286
Computer Science (Artificial Intelligence) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €22,286
Computer Science (Cyber Security) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €22,286
Computer Games Art BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Computer Games Design BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Computer Animation and Visual Effects BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Computer Games Production BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Computer Games Technology BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Mathematics with Machine Learning BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Creative Computing BA (Hons) / BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €23,364
Computer Science (BSc) with an Emphasis in Artificial Intelligence (Webster Vienna Private University)2026/27≈ €24,068
Computer Networks and Security BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Computer Science (Dual Degree - Brock University) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Computing BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Cyber Security and Forensic Computing BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Data Science and Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Bachelor in Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (IE University)2027/28≈ €27,300
Bachelor in Data and Business Analytics (IE University)2027/28≈ €27,300
Dual Bachelor Degree in Business Administration & Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (IE University)2027/28≈ €34,020
Dual Bachelor Degree in Business Administration & Data and Business Analytics (IE University)2027/28≈ €34,020
And the whole degree?

≈ €22,500

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 30 Apr 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadlineAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadlineAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenProgramme starts
Every date (3 dates)
Apr 2027
  • Application deadline
  • Application deadline
Oct 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirement7 IELTS overall4 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 5 accepted proofs
CEFR from: C1 · Language: English
Cambridge C1 Advanced pass · Language: English
Duolingo English Test 130 · Language: English
IELTS 7 · Language: English
TOEFL iBT (new scale) 5.5 · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyFor: Bachelor · Level: Completed secondary education⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCEFR from: C1 · Language: English⁠
    +4 more
    • Cambridge C1 Advanced pass · Language: English⁠
    • Duolingo English Test 130 · Language: English⁠
    • IELTS 7 · Language: English⁠
    • TOEFL iBT (new scale) 5.5 · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsDocument assessment · 2027/28Inferred
  4. 4
    How they chooseAccepted: AP Calculus AB 5 / BC 4–5; SAT 1250 incl. Math 720; ACT 26 incl. Math 32; IB Math HL ≥ 6; A levels AAB incl. A in Maths · Criterion: Reasoning requirements · Alternative: admission requirements of the Czech-taught programme · Max age years: 3⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applySystem: SIS e-application (is.cuni.cz) · Channels: Online⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline30 Apr 2027 · Application · 2027⁠
    +1 more
    • 30 Apr 2027 · Application · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
  8. 8
    StartDate: 1 Oct 2027 · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

5 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Czechia

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeComputer Science Charles UniversitySimilarInformatics CTU PragueSimilarElectrical Engineering and Computer Science CTU Prague
Price€7,500 / year · 2027/28CZK 64,000 / semester · 2027/28Not published
Duration3 years3 years3 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date30 Apr 20271 Jan 2027Not published

4 of 6 publish a next date.

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

Computer Science

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

54% data and computing · 13% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish

VŠE · PragueCzechia

Economic Data Science

€6,000 / year · 2027/28 · all nationalities

31% data and computing · 26% business and management

BachelorSemester abroadThesisEnglish
Next date
CZK 258,500–CZK 311,000 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship ≈ €10,634–€12,794
4 yr
length
BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

68 facts from 19 official sources

Checked 6 days ago.

68facts with a quote
19official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 19 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Computer Science is a bachelor's programme in computing and data at Univerzita Karlova in Prague, Czechia. It takes 3 years. It carries 180 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 25 modules, of which 5 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are data and computing (40%), maths and foundations (26%) and languages and communication (6%).

It includes a final thesis and a choice of specialisations.

How much does Computer Science cost?

€7,500 / year · 2027/28 · all nationalities; prices differ by citizenship (UA, EU/EEA citizens: €4,200; All applicants: €7,500).

When is the next deadline or start?

30 Apr 2027 (Apply by).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires IELTS 7).

How long does it take?

3 years.

Where is it?

Univerzita Karlova, Prague, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 24 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Dates · 2 with values
Deadline ruleRule: varies by faculty, February to June/July · Programme language: English⁠
StartDate: 1 Oct 2027 · Intake: October · 2027/28Inferred
Admission · 5 with values
How to applySystem: SIS e-application (is.cuni.cz) · Channels: Online⁠
Admission testsDocument assessment · 2027/28Inferred
Language requirementCEFR from: C1 · Language: English⁠Cambridge C1 Advanced pass · Language: English⁠Duolingo English Test 130 · Language: English⁠IELTS 7 · Language: English⁠TOEFL iBT (new scale) 5.5 · Language: English⁠
Prior educationFor: Bachelor · Level: Completed secondary education⁠
Selection criteriaAccepted: AP Calculus AB 5 / BC 4–5; SAT 1250 incl. Math 720; ACT 26 incl. Math 32; IB Math HL ≥ 6; A levels AAB incl. A in Maths · Criterion: Reasoning requirements · Alternative: admission requirements of the Czech-taught programme · Max age years: 3⁠
Curriculum · 1 with values
SpecialisationsArtificial Intelligence⁠Databases and Web⁠General Computer Science⁠
Programme · 12 with values
QualificationBachelor · Title: Bachelor · Degree: Bc.⁠
Credits180 ECTS⁠
Curriculum yearValid for intake from: 2019Inferred
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration3 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Mathematics and Physics⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelBakalar · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Programme codeProgramme code: B0613A140007 · Programme name: Computer Science⁠
StructureSpecializations: 3 · Common first year: Yes · Specializations from year: 2⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
Thesis / final projectRequired: Yes · Final state examination: Yes⁠

Institution record: Univerzita Karlova

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.