A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in English, in Enschede.

How it's taught60% Practical and group work · 10% Study career counseling⁠18 of 297 similar publish this
Tracks6 to choose from⁠19 of 297 similar publish this
InternshipInternship · Year 3⁠23 of 297 similar publish this
Price€2,694–€9,360/ year · 2026/27 · depending on citizenship
Next dateApply by · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires IELTS Academic 6.0
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 29 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

The first two years of this Enschede bachelor are organised around four game-industry roles: Game Artist, Game Designer, Game Engineer and Graphical Engineer.⁠ First-year modules cover programming fundamentals, art fundamentals and Unity fundamentals, plus personal branding and a portfolio.⁠ Teaching is 60% practical and group work and 30% theory, with 20 contact hours a week.⁠ In year 3 students complete an internship and a minor.⁠

The Bachelor of Science is full time, runs 4 years and 240 ECTS, and is taught in English on campus.⁠ A secondary school diploma including mathematics is recommended, and English can be shown with IELTS Academic 6.0 or Cambridge 169.⁠ Applications go through Studielink, with 2027 deadlines of 1 April for non-EU/EEA applicants and 1 July for EU/EEA applicants.⁠ Tuition in 2026/27 is €9,360 per year for non-EU students and €2,694 for EU/EEA students.⁠

What you will study

39 modules published

What do you choose?

1 of 6 specialisations

Branches are the options the institution lists.

The options

  • Game Artist
  • Game Designer
  • Game Engineer
  • Graphical Engineer
  • Narrative Designer
  • Technical Environment Artist
When you choose: not stated
What is a week like?

40 hours a week

Classes 20 hSelf-study 20 hLine: 40-hour job
How it's taught
Practical and group work 60%Study career counseling 10%Theory 30%

38 of 298 similar publish hours · 8 of 298 publish a teaching split

What are all the subjects?

All 39 modules

ACT CMGT First year Artist · 3 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT First year Designer · 3 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT First year Engineer · 3 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT First year General · 7 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT, Creative Media and Game Technologies Graduation · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT, Creative Media and Game Technologies Internship · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

ACT CMGT, Project IMT&S · 1 module · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year Env- Environment Artist · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year Gad- Game Designer · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year Gen- General Artist · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year General · 8 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year GPL- GamePlay Engineer · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year Gra- Graphical Engineer · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

CMGT second-year Nar- Narrative Designer · 2 modules · all compulsory · credits not published
Module

Source: saxion.edu, checked 26 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationBachelor of Science⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
CampusEnschede⁠
Internship
  • 3 year of study⁠
How are you assessed?
Teaching methods
  • MethodPractical and group work⁠
  • Share pct60⁠
  • MethodStudy career counseling⁠
  • Share pct10⁠
  • MethodTheory⁠
  • Share pct30⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More projects and labs than 5 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeCreative Media and Game Technologies Saxion39
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More projects and labs, less business and management

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
59% here
17% typical
Projects and labs
23% here
12% typical
Data and computing
10% here
3% typical

Less here than typical

Business and management
0% here
19% typical
Internship
3% here
16% typical
Languages and communication
5% here
16% typical
Research methods
0% here
5% typical

About the same as typical: thesis, society, ethics and law.

Where you'll study

Studying in Enschede

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 159,732 in 2021
Distance to the centre≈ 0.4 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms through partner residences⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠, LaboratoriesInferred, Studios⁠
FoodCanteenInferred
SupportCounselling⁠, Career service⁠, Disability support⁠

The rest of what we hold on Saxion is on its page.

What it costs

At least €22,864 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €22,864 first year · 2026/27 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€9,360
Visa or residence permit€254
Insurance, first year€287
Living: the amount you must prove for the visa€12,963

Not published: application fee

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (2)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€2,694 / year
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2026/27€9,360 / year
What changes the price?

3 things that move it

×3.5
EU/EEA€2,694
non-EU€9,360

Your passport changes the rate.

−€5,000

NL Scholarship (NLS): GPA 80% or higher and IELTS 7.0 or higher

−€2,750

Saxion Talent Scholarship (STS): GPA 75% or higher and IELTS 6.0 or higher

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 39 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €9,360

Costs more than 1 of 38 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €20,220 and €22,526.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 39, cheapest first
Communication (HAN University of Applied Sciences)2026/27≈ €9,320
This programme2026/27≈ €9,360
Communication & Multimedia Design (NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences)2027/28≈ €10,630
Communication Science (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €12,652
Bachelor of Arts in Communication and Media (University of New York in Prague)2026/27≈ €12,794
Bachelor of Arts in Digital Media Arts (University of New York in Prague)2026/27≈ €12,794
Digital Media and Communication BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Fashion Marketing and Communication BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Sports Journalism BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Visual Communication BA (Hons) (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
BA (Hons) Advertising and Public Relations (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Advertising and Public Relations with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Graphic Design (Visual Communication and Illustration) (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Graphic Design (Visual Communication and Illustration) with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Journalism with Content Creation (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Journalism with Content Creation with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Media and Communications (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BA (Hons) Media and Communications with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BMus (Hons) Composition (Film, Gaming, Media) (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BMus (Hons) Composition (Film, Gaming, Media) with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Marketing and Social Media (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
BSc (Hons) Marketing and Social Media with Foundation Year (University of West London)2027/28≈ €20,669
Digital Marketing and Advertising, BA Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Film and Television Production, BA Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
Media and Communications, BA Hons (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €21,537
English Literature with Media Studies BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Journalism BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Journalism with Creative Writing BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Journalism with Media Studies BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Media Production BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Media Studies BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Post-Production for Film and Television BA (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Creative Media Technologies BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Creative Media Technologies (Top-Up) BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Sociology with Media Studies BSc (Hons) (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
Strategic Communication (BA) (Webster Vienna Private University)2026/27≈ €24,068
BA (Hons) Fashion Branding & Creative Communication (Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts)2027/28≈ €27,211
BA (Hons) Visual Communication (Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts)2027/28≈ €27,211
Bachelor in Communication and Digital Media (IE University)2027/28≈ €27,300
And the whole degree?

≈ €37,440

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 1 Apr 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalitiesAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenDocuments and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalitiesAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (6 dates)
Apr 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
May 2027
  • Documents and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities
Jun 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens
Jul 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
  • Documents and payment · Non-EU/EEA citizens
Aug 2027
  • Documents and payment · EU/EEA citizens
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.0 IELTS overall6 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 6 accepted proofs
Cambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28
IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28
LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28
Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28
Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28
TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyStrength: Recommended · 2027/28 · Qualification: Secondary school diploma · Recommended subjects: Mathematics⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    +5 more
    • IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠
    • TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseIntake procedure · Details: CMGT intake procedure described in a downloadable Intake PDF (not collected) · 2027/28⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applySystem: Studielink · Channel: Studielink⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    Deadline1 Apr 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    +5 more
    • 1 May 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 1 Jun 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 1 Jul 2027 · Application · 2027 · System: Studielink · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 1 Jul 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
    • 31 Aug 2027 · Documents and payment · 2027 · Programme level: Bachelor⁠
  8. 8
    StartTerm: September · 2027⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Netherlands

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeCreative Media and Game Technologies SaxionSimilarInternational Communication Management THUASSimilarCreative Media & Game Technologies Hanze
Price€9,360 / year · 2026/27€10,528 / year · 2026/27€2,694 / year · 2026/27
Duration4 years3 years4 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date1 Apr 2027Not publishedNot published

3 of 6 publish a next date.

Wittenborg · ApeldoornNetherlands

BBA (MCI) Specialisation in Digital & Social Media

€11,800 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

37% business and management · 12% data and computing

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

Hanze · GroningenNetherlands

International Communication

€2,694 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA

35% languages and communication · 22% internship

BachelorTaught in EnglishEnglish

Wittenborg · ApeldoornNetherlands

BBA (MCI) Specialisation in Marketing & Communication

€11,800 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

44% business and management · 13% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

HAN · ArnhemNetherlands

Communication

€2,694–€9,320 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

32% internship · 23% languages and communication

BachelorTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

79 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 6 days ago.

79facts with a quote
6official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Creative Media and Game Technologies is a bachelor's programme in media and communication at Saxion University of Applied Sciences in Enschede, Netherlands. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 39 modules. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are projects and labs (23%), data and computing (10%) and languages and communication (5%).

It includes an internship and a choice of specialisations.

How much does Creative Media and Game Technologies cost?

€9,360 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU/EEA citizens: €2,694; Non-EU/EEA citizens: €9,360).

When is the next deadline or start?

1 Apr 2027 (Apply by · Non-EU/EEA citizens · 9 listed nationalities).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires IELTS Academic 6.0).

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Saxion University of Applied Sciences, Enschede, Netherlands.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 22 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Dates · 1 with values
StartTerm: September · 2027⁠
Admission · 4 with values
How to applySystem: Studielink · Channel: Studielink⁠
Language requirementCambridge English Language Assessment 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠IELTS Academic 6.0 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠LanguageCert Academic 65 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠Linguaskill and Linguaskill Business 169 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠Pearson PTE Academic 61 · Language: English · 2027/28⁠TOEIC · Language: English · 2027/28 · Speaking writing min: 335 · Listening reading min: 865⁠
Prior educationStrength: Recommended · 2027/28 · Qualification: Secondary school diploma · Recommended subjects: Mathematics⁠
Selection criteriaIntake procedure · Details: CMGT intake procedure described in a downloadable Intake PDF (not collected) · 2027/28⁠
Programme · 14 with values
CampusEnschede⁠
QualificationBachelor of Science⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration4 years⁠
Hours per weekUnit: Hours per week · Contact: 20 · Self study: 20⁠
InternshipInternship · Year of study: 3⁠
Language of instructionEnglishInferred
LevelHbo bachelor · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Official namesOfficial en: Creative Media and Game Technologies⁠
Structure180 ECTS · Phase: Creative Media and Game Technologies⁠60 ECTS · Phase: ACT propedeuse CMGT, Creative Media and Game Technologies⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
Teaching methodsPractical and group work · Share pct: 60⁠Study career counseling · Share pct: 10⁠Theory · Share pct: 30⁠
TracksGame Artist · Role: Artist · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠Game Designer · Role: Designer · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠Game Engineer · Role: Engineer · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠Graphical Engineer · Role: Engineer · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠Narrative Designer · Role: Designer · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠Technical Environment Artist · Role: Artist · Type: Learning path · Years of study: 1; 2⁠

Institution record: Saxion University of Applied Sciences

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.