A 4-semester master's programme, taught in English, in Garching.

Price€6,800/ semester · 2027/28 · non-EU
Next dateNext start
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires Ielts academic 6.5
Duration4 semesters⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 30 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

15 modules published

What are all the subjects?

All 15 modules

Year 1 · 5 modules · all compulsory · 26 ECTS
ModuleECTS
5
5
5
5
6

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

Modules · 10 modules · 89 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Thesis30
Compulsory5
Elective5
Elective5
Elective5
Elective5
Elective8
Elective8
Elective8
Compulsory10

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
CampusGarching⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More thesis than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeComputational Science and Engineering (CSE) TUM15
MSc Computer Science IU Internationale Hochschule16
MSc Computer Science with Business Analytics IU Internationale Hochschule20
MSc Computer Science with Data Science IU Internationale Hochschule20
MSc Computer Science with AI IU Internationale Hochschule20
Data Engineering Constructor31
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More thesis, less maths and foundations

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Thesis
26% here
7% typical

Less here than typical

Maths and foundations
0% here
9% typical
Specialist subjects
0% here
5% typical

About the same as typical: projects and labs, data and computing.

Where you'll study

Studying in Garching

What is the campus like?
City sizeUnder 100,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 17,729 in 2025
HousingHelp finding a room, no rooms of its own⁠
RankingQS World University Rankings 2027: #1, national⁠
FacilitiesSports fields⁠, Library⁠
FoodCanteen⁠
SupportCounselling⁠, Career service⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student unionInferred, Transport⁠

The rest of what we hold on TUM is on its page.

What it costs

At least €13,794 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €13,794 first year · 2027/28 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2027/28 · 2 semesters€13,600
Semester contribution · 2 semesters€194

Not published: application fee, visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (2)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
Semester contributionAll applicants2026€97 / semester
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2027/28€6,800 / semester
Scholarships
  • TUM scholarship for international students€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

−€1,800

TUM scholarship for international students

Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 21 similar programmes, in euros / semester

This programme €6,800

Costs more than 7 of 20 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €2,057 and €7,000.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 21, cheapest first
Communication and Information Technology (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Computer Science (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Computer Science / Artificial Intelligence (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Computer Science / Quantum Informatics (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Control and Information Systems (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Information Technology in Material Science (VŠB – Technická univerzita Ostrava)2026/27≈ €2,057
Strategic Finance & Business Analytics (Lauder Business School)2026/27≈ €2,100
This programme2027/28≈ €6,800
Computational Mechanics (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Data Engineering and Analytics (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Data & Society (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Informatik (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Informatik: Games Engineering (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Information Systems (Wirtschaftsinformatik) (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
Mathematics in Data Science (Technische Universität München)2027/28≈ €6,800
MSc in Data Science for Sustainability (MODUL University Vienna)2026≈ €7,000
Advanced Software Technology (Constructor University)2027/28≈ €11,925
Computer Science and Engineering (Constructor University)2027/28≈ €11,925
Computer Science and Software Engineering (Constructor University)2027/28≈ €11,925
Data Engineering (Constructor University)2027/28≈ €11,925
Data Science for Society and Business (Constructor University)2027/28≈ €11,925
How to start

Next: 18 Oct 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upProgramme starts
Every date (1 date)
Oct 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.5 IELTS overall6 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 7 accepted proofs
Language: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes
Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50
Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠
    +6 more
    • Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠
    • Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineUnknown
  8. 8
    StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
What do they ask for?
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Statement of purpose (Letter of Motivation); Curricular Analysis; Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

1 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Germany

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeComputational Science and Engineering (CSE) TUMSimilarMSc Computer Science IU Internationale HochschuleSimilarMSc Computer Science with Business Analytics IU Internationale Hochschule
Price€6,800 / semester · 2027/28Not publishedNot published
Duration4 semesters24 months24 months
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date18 Oct 2027Not publishedNot published

2 of 6 publish a next date.

IU Internationale Hochschule · CologneGermany

MSc Computer Science with Data Science

€20,000 total · year not stated · confirm with the source

65% data and computing · 15% projects and labs

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

IU Internationale Hochschule · CologneGermany

MSc Computer Science with AI

€20,000 total · year not stated · confirm with the source

65% data and computing · 10% maths and foundations

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

Constructor · BremenGermany

Data Engineering

€11,925 / semester · 2027/28 · all nationalities

63% data and computing · 11% maths and foundations

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

Uni Mannheim · MannheimGermany

Master's Program in Business Informatics

Master Wirtschaftsinformatik

€1,500 / semester · year not stated · confirm with the source

60% data and computing · 9% projects and labs

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

41 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 5 days ago.

41facts with a quote
6official pages
3fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Computational Science and Engineering (CSE) is a master's programme in computing and data at Technische Universität München in Garching, Germany. It takes 4 semesters. It carries 120 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 15 modules, of which 7 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are data and computing (60%), thesis (26%) and projects and labs (14%).

How much does Computational Science and Engineering (CSE) cost?

€6,800 / semester · 2027/28 · non-EU.

When is the next deadline or start?

18 Oct 2027 (Next start).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires Ielts academic 6.5).

How long does it take?

4 semesters.

Where is it?

Technische Universität München, Garching, Germany.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 20 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values
Scholarships€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
Dates · 1 with values
StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
Admission · 5 with values
How to applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Statement of purpose (Letter of Motivation); Curricular Analysis; Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
Language requirementLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
Prior educationExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
Selection criteriaAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
Programme · 8 with values · 2 without
CampusGarching⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
Duration4 semesters · Mode: Full time⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
OutcomesNot found on official pages
Start ruleMonth: October · Terms: Winter semester⁠
Study modeFull time⁠

Institution record: Technische Universität München

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.