Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology

Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los AlimentosTranslated

Universidad Complutense de Madrid · Madrid · Spain

A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in Spanish and English, in Madrid.

Price€20.68–€136.44/ credit · 2026/27 · depending on citizenship
Next dateBachelor classes start 2 September 2026; second semester 18 January 2027⁠Starts
LanguageSpanish and English⁠
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

40 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

How does study run?

8 lines through 4 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From maths and foundations to business and management

Share of modules by theme in each year. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsBusiness and managementSociety, ethics and lawProjects and labsInternshipThesisFree electives
Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 40 modules

Year 1 · 9 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Basic12
Basic6
Basic6
Basic6
Basic6
Basic6
Basic6
Required6
Required6

Source: ucm.es, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Basic6
Basic6
Required6
Required6
Required6
Required6
Required6
Required9
Required3
Required6

Source: ucm.es, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 7 modules · all required · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
12
6
6
6
12
6
12

Source: ucm.es, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 14 modules · 90 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Required6
Required9
Required6
Required3
Internship9
Thesis9
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6

Source: ucm.es, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationGRADO EN CIENCIA Y TECNOLOGÍA DE LOS ALIMENTOS⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time, Part timeInferred
DeliveryOn campus⁠
CampusMoncloaInferred
Places85 places⁠
Codes and faculty
Curriculum year
  • Text2011-2012⁠
  • MeaningImplementation⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More business and management than 3 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology Complutense Madrid40
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

Less maths and foundations than usual

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
42% here
25% typical

Less here than typical

Maths and foundations
25% here
31% typical
Data and computing
0% here
6% typical

About the same as typical: business and management, internship, thesis, languages and communication, projects and labs, society, ethics and law.

Which year differs most?

Year 2 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

Close to similar programmes

This programme

Year 2

More society, ethics and law 10% against 0% at most

This programme

Year 4

Close to similar programmes

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What is only here?

22 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Specialist subjects

15
  • Physiology
  • Fundamentals of Toxicology
  • Fundamentals of Bromatology
  • Science and Analysis of Foods of Plant Origin
  • Science and Analysis of Foods of Animal Origin
  • Science and Analysis of Drinking Water and Beverages
  • Food Engineering
  • Food Preservation and Transformation Processes
+7 more
  • Food Packaging
  • Technology of Foods of Animal Origin
  • Technology of Foods of Plant Origin
  • Food Hygiene and Safety
  • Human Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Epidemiology and Health Control in Primary Production
  • Health Standardization and Legislation

Maths and foundations

5
  • Fundamentals of Chemistry and Chemical Analysis
  • Microbiology
  • Biology
  • Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology
  • Microbiological Quality of Food

Business and management

2
  • Economics, Management and Marketing in the Food Industry
  • Quality Management in the Food Industry
Where you'll study

Studying in Madrid

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 3,506,730 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 3.9 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingARWU 2026: 201-300, world⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠, Sports hallInferred, Swimming pool (nearby)⁠
FoodCafeteriaInferred, CanteenInferred

The rest of what we hold on Complutense Madrid is on its page.

What it costs

At least €8,227.52 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €8,227.52 first year · 2026/27 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2026/27 · 60 credits€8,186.40
Application fee€40
Insurance, first year€1.12

Not published: visa fee and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (2)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionNon-EU citizens2026/27€136.44 / credit
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€20.68 / credit
What changes the price?

4 things that move it

×6.6
EU/EEA€20.68
non-EU€136.44

Your passport changes the rate.

Grant

Becas para residentes en Colegios Mayores UCM

Grant

Ayudas del programa de acogida a personas refugiadas

Grant

Ayudas al estudio Concepción Arenal

Is that expensive?

More expensive than most

Among 12 similar programmes, in euros / credit

This programme €136

Costs more than 11 of 11 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €18 and €129.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 12, cheapest first
How to start

Starts: Bachelor classes start 2 September 2026; second semester 18 January 2027

When does it happen?
DeadlinesUnknownNotify me
Is my language good enough?
Spanish requirementB2 CEFR minimum
What do they ask for?
Prior educationUnknown
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

5 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Spain

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology Complutense MadridSimilarBachelor's Degree in Mathematical Engineering Complutense MadridSimilarBachelor's Degree in Chemical Engineering Complutense Madrid
Price€136.44 / credit · 2026/27€128.57 / credit · 2026/27€128.57 / credit · 2026/27
Duration4 years4 years4 years
LanguageSpanish and EnglishSpanish and EnglishSpanish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Telecommunications Electronics Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de TelecomunicaciónTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

25% maths and foundations · 15% free electives

BachelorThesisTaught in EnglishCatalanSpanish

UPV · ValènciaSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Aerospace Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería AeroespacialTranslated

€17.34 / credit · 2026/27 · EU/EEA

44% free electives · 24% maths and foundations

BachelorTaught in EnglishSpanishCatalan

UCAM · MurciaSpain

Food Science and Technology

Ciencia y Tecnología de los AlimentosTranslated

€5,200 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

23% maths and foundations · 14% free electives

BachelorSpanish

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería de MaterialesTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

24% maths and foundations · 13% free electives

BachelorThesisTaught in EnglishCatalanSpanish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

57 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

57facts with a quote
6official pages
1fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology is a bachelor's programme in engineering and technology at Universidad Complutense de Madrid in Madrid, Spain. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Spanish and English.

The institution publishes 40 modules, of which 8 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are maths and foundations (25%), free electives (18%) and business and management (6%).

How much does Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology cost?

€136.44 / credit · 2026/27 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU/EEA citizens: €20.68; Non-EU citizens: €136.44).

When is the next deadline or start?

Bachelor classes start 2 September 2026; second semester 18 January 2027 (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

Spanish and English.

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Madrid, Spain.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 18 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 1 with values
Language requirementCEFR: B2 · Scope: University rule · Language: Spanish · Applies to: applicants from foreign education systems whose mother tongue is not Spanish⁠
Programme · 13 with values
CampusMoncloaInferred
QualificationGRADO EN CIENCIA Y TECNOLOGÍA DE LOS ALIMENTOS⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
Curriculum yearText: 2011-2012 · Meaning: Implementation⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Duration4 yearsInferred
Language of instructionSpanish and English⁠
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
LocationMoncloa, MadridInferred
Places85 places⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Bachelor classes start 2 September 2026; second semester 18 January 2027 · Scope: Institution calendar · Applies to: Grado · Start date: 2 Sep 2026 · 2026/27 · Second term start: 18 Jan 2027Inferred
StructureFacultad de Veterinaria · Type: Managing centre⁠
Study modeFull time, Part timeInferred

Institution record: Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.