Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology

Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los AlimentosTranslated

Universitat de Barcelona · Barcelona · Spain

A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in Catalan and Spanish, in Barcelona.

InternshipCredits: 6 · Curricular: Yes⁠94 of 1328 similar publish this
Final projectCredits: 6⁠270 of 1328 similar publish this
Places80 places⁠1097 of 1328 similar publish this
Price€17.69/ credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities
Next dateClasses start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027⁠Starts
LanguageCatalan and Spanish⁠
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 2 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

50 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 2
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 3
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 4
3 modules18 ECTS
Internship6 ECTSSemester not stated
StudyInternshipYear known, semester not
How does study run?

7 lines through 4 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From maths and foundations to specialist subjects

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsBusiness and managementSociety, ethics and lawProjects and labsInternshipThesis
Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
What are all the subjects?

All 50 modules

Year 1 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 10 modules · all required · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 2o semestre6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 8 modules · 48 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestre 2o semestreInternship6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreThesis6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Modules · 12 modules · all elective · 39 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· 1r semestre3
· 1r semestre 2o semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 2o semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 2o semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 1r semestre3
· 1r semestre 2o semestre3
· 1r semestre 2o semestre6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationGrado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Internship
  • Credits6⁠
  • CurricularYes⁠
Thesis / final project
  • Credits6⁠
  • RequiredYes⁠
Places80 places⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More society, ethics and law than 4 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology UB50
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More society, ethics and law, less data and computing

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
45% here
30% typical
Society, ethics and law
8% here
4% typical

Less here than typical

Data and computing
1% here
8% typical
Maths and foundations
23% here
29% typical

About the same as typical: research methods, projects and labs, business and management, internship, languages and communication, thesis.

Which year differs most?

Year 1 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

More maths and foundations 70% against 64% at most

This programme

Year 4

Close to similar programmes

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
What is only here?

30 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Specialist subjects

12
  • Functional Foods and Novel Foods
  • Instrumental Analysis
  • Food Biotechnology
  • Food Composition and Properties
  • Quality Control of Processes and Products
  • Fundamentals of Technology
  • Environmental Management in the Food Industry
  • Hygiene in the Food Industry and Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points
+4 more
  • Food Ingredients and Formulation
  • Nutrition and Health
  • Unit Operations I
  • Food Safety I

Maths and foundations

8
  • Biostatistics and Applied Mathematics
  • Cell Biology and Genetics
  • Molecular Biology and Genomics
  • Physics and Physical Chemistry
  • General Microbiology
  • General and Inorganic Chemistry
  • Food Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Food Chemistry

Society, ethics and law

4
  • Rethinking Water: Challenges and Sustainable Management
  • Anthropology and Psychology of Eating Behavior
  • Quality Management and Food Regulations
  • Public Health and Nutritional Epidemiology

Business and management

2
  • Innovation, Marketing and Communication
  • Economics and Management in the Agri-Food Company

Projects and labs

2
  • Laboratory Experimentation
  • Food Analysis Practicals

Data and computing

1
  • Bioinformatics and Molecular Modelling
Where you'll study

Studying in Barcelona

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,731,649 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 1.2 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingARWU 2026: 151-200, world⁠
FacilitiesGymInferred, Library⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodMeal planInferred

The rest of what we hold on UB is on its page.

What it costs

At least €1,091.61 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €1,091.61 first year · 2026/27 · all nationalities · our sum

Tuition 2026/27 · 60 credits€1,061.40
Application fee€30.21

Not published: living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (1)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionAll applicants2026/27€17.69 / credit
ScholarshipsUnknown
Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 31 similar programmes, in euros / credit

This programme €18

Costs more than 19 of 30 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €17 and €18.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 31, cheapest first
Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Doble grado en Ingeniería Química + Ingeniería de Tecnología y Diseño Textil (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Doble grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación, Sonido e Imagen + Comunicación Audiovisual (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Aeroespacial (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Ambiental (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Biomédica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería en Diseño Industrial y Desarrollo de Productos (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica Industrial y Automática (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Eléctrica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de la Energía (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Física (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Informática Industrial y Robótica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Mecánica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Organización Industrial (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación, Sonido e Imagen (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería en Tecnologías Industriales (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Tecnologías Interactivas (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
This programme2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de Telecomunicación (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería de Materiales (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Biomédica (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería de Computadores (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería de Materiales (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de Comunicaciones Plan 2020 (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Geológica (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Matemática (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €136
How to start

Starts: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027

When does it happen?
DeadlinesNot found on official pages
What do they ask for?
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 9.054 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Spain

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology UBSimilarFood Science and Technology UCAMSimilarBachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering UB
Price€17.69 / credit · 2026/27Not published€17.69 / credit · 2026/27
Duration4 years4 years4 years
LanguageCatalan and SpanishSpanishCatalan, Spanish and English
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Telecommunications Electronics Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de TelecomunicaciónTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

25% maths and foundations · 15% free electives

BachelorThesisTaught in EnglishCatalanSpanish

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Biomedical Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería BiomédicaTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

26% maths and foundations · 13% data and computing

BachelorThesisTaught in EnglishCatalanSpanish

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Chemical Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería QuímicaTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

37% maths and foundations · 9% free electives

BachelorThesisCatalanSpanish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

65 facts from 2 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

65facts with a quote
2official pages
2fields marked unknown
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology is a bachelor's programme in engineering and technology at Universitat de Barcelona in Barcelona, Spain. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Catalan and Spanish.

The institution publishes 50 modules, of which 12 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are maths and foundations (23%), free electives (10%) and society, ethics and law (8%).

It includes an internship and a final thesis.

How much does Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology cost?

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities.

When is the next deadline or start?

Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

Catalan and Spanish.

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Universitat de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 17 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 2 with values · 1 without
Language requirementNot found on official pages
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 9.054 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Programme · 11 with values
QualificationGrado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Duration4 years⁠
InternshipCredits: 6 · Curricular: Yes⁠
Language of instructionCatalan and Spanish⁠
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Places80 places⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 · Scope: Institution calendar · Applies to: All · Start date: 14 Sep 2026 · 2026/27 · Second term window: 1 Feb 2027; 8 Feb 2027Inferred
StructureFacultad de Farmacia y Ciencias de la Alimentación · Type: Managing centre⁠Credit distribution · Basic: 60 · Total: 240 · Thesis: 6 · Elective: 12 · Compulsory: 156 · Internship: 6⁠
Thesis / final projectCredits: 6 · Required: Yes⁠

Institution record: Universitat de Barcelona

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.