Bachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería de MaterialesTranslated

Universitat de Barcelona · Barcelona · Spain

A 4-year bachelor's programme, taught in Catalan, Spanish and English, in Barcelona.

Final projectCredits: 12⁠292 of 1528 similar publish this
Places40 places⁠1168 of 1528 similar publish this
Price€17.69/ credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities
Next dateClasses start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027⁠Starts
LanguageCatalan, Spanish and English⁠
Duration4 years⁠

✓ 2 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

52 modules published

Across 4 years of study.

Where will you be?

8 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 2
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 3
5 modules30 ECTS
5 modules30 ECTS
Year 4
3 modules18 ECTS
Final project12 ECTSSemester not stated
StudyFinal projectYear known, semester not
How does study run?

6 lines through 4 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

From maths and foundations to specialist subjects

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingBusiness and managementProjects and labsThesis
Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
What are all the subjects?

All 52 modules

Year 1 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 10 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreBasic6
· 1r semestreBasic6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 3 · 10 modules · all required · 60 ECTS
ModuleECTS
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 1r semestre6
· 2o semestre6
· 2o semestre6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 4 · 5 modules · 36 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestre 2o semestreThesis12
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 2o semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6
· 1r semestreRequired6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

Modules · 17 modules · 60 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective3
· 2o semestreElective3
· 1r semestreElective6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreInternship6
· 1r semestre 2o semestreInternship6

Source: web.ub.edu, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
QualificationGrado en Ingeniería de Materiales⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Thesis / final project
  • Credits12⁠
  • RequiredYes⁠
Places40 places⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More projects and labs than 4 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering UB52
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

Less maths and foundations than usual

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Specialist subjects
41% here
29% typical

Less here than typical

Maths and foundations
24% here
34% typical
Data and computing
3% here
7% typical

About the same as typical: projects and labs, internship, society, ethics and law, thesis, business and management.

Which year differs most?

Year 3 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

Close to similar programmes

This programme

Year 3

More projects and labs 20% against 0% at most

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
What is only here?

23 modules not found at 6 similar programmes

Matched by title, so treat it as a hint to check.

Specialist subjects

16
  • Fundamentals of Materials Engineering
  • Structural Characterisation
  • Structural and Technological Ceramics
  • Circularity in Materials
  • Electronic, Thermal and Optical Behaviour of Materials
  • Corrosion and Degradation
  • Elasticity and Strength
  • Functional Materials
+8 more
  • Materialography
  • Metals and Alloys
  • Obtaining and Processing of Materials
  • Plasticity. Fracture Mechanics
  • Polymers and Hybrid Materials
  • Selection of Materials
  • Materials Technology
  • Industrial Technology

Maths and foundations

5
  • Chemical Documentation
  • The Chemistry of Construction Binding Materials
  • Polymer Chemistry
  • Physical Metallurgy
  • Physical Chemistry of Materials

Data and computing

1
  • Improvements in Materials and Chemistry through Artificial Intelligence Tools

Projects and labs

1
  • Materials Laboratory
Where you'll study

Studying in Barcelona

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,731,649 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 1.2 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingARWU 2026: 151-200, world⁠
FacilitiesGymInferred, Library⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodMeal planInferred

The rest of what we hold on UB is on its page.

What it costs

At least €1,091.61 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €1,091.61 first year · 2026/27 · all nationalities · our sum

Tuition 2026/27 · 60 credits€1,061.40
Application fee€30.21

Not published: living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (1)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionAll applicants2026/27€17.69 / credit
ScholarshipsUnknown
Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 31 similar programmes, in euros / credit

This programme €18

Costs more than 19 of 30 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €17 and €18.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 31, cheapest first
Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Doble grado en Ingeniería Química + Ingeniería de Tecnología y Diseño Textil (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Doble grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación, Sonido e Imagen + Comunicación Audiovisual (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Aeroespacial (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Ambiental (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Biomédica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería en Diseño Industrial y Desarrollo de Productos (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica Industrial y Automática (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Eléctrica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de la Energía (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Física (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Informática Industrial y Robótica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Mecánica (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Organización Industrial (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación, Sonido e Imagen (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería en Tecnologías Industriales (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Ingeniería de Tecnologías de Telecomunicación (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
Grado en Tecnologías Interactivas (Universitat Politècnica de València)2026/27≈ €17
This programme2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de Telecomunicación (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería Biomédica (Universitat de Barcelona)2026/27≈ €18
Grado en Ingeniería de Computadores (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería de Materiales (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Electrónica de Comunicaciones Plan 2020 (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Geológica (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Matemática (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ingeniería Química (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €129
Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los Alimentos (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)2026/27≈ €136
How to start

Starts: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027

When does it happen?
DeadlinesNot found on official pages
What do they ask for?
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 8.500 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

6 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Spain

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeBachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering UBSimilarBachelor's Degree in Telecommunications Electronics Engineering UBSimilarBachelor's Degree in Mathematical Engineering Complutense Madrid
Price€17.69 / credit · 2026/27€17.69 / credit · 2026/27€128.57 / credit · 2026/27
Duration4 years4 years4 years
LanguageCatalan, Spanish and EnglishCatalan, Spanish and EnglishSpanish and English
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Chemical Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería QuímicaTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

37% maths and foundations · 9% free electives

BachelorThesisCatalanSpanish

Complutense Madrid · MadridSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Chemical Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería QuímicaTranslated

€19.43–€128.57 / credit · 2026/27 · by citizenship

42% maths and foundations · 13% free electives

BachelorPart-timeScholarshipsSpanish

Complutense Madrid · MadridSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Food Science and Technology

Grado en Ciencia y Tecnología de los AlimentosTranslated

€20.68–€136.44 / credit · 2026/27 · by citizenship

25% maths and foundations · 18% free electives

BachelorPart-timeTaught in EnglishSpanishEnglish

UBSpain

Bachelor's Degree in Biomedical Engineering

Grado en Ingeniería BiomédicaTranslated

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities

26% maths and foundations · 13% data and computing

BachelorThesisTaught in EnglishCatalanSpanish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

66 facts from 2 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

66facts with a quote
2official pages
2fields marked unknown
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Bachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering is a bachelor's programme in engineering and technology at Universitat de Barcelona in Barcelona, Spain. It takes 4 years. It carries 240 ECTS credits. Teaching is in Catalan, Spanish and English.

The institution publishes 52 modules, of which 15 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are maths and foundations (24%), free electives (13%) and projects and labs (7%).

It includes a final thesis.

How much does Bachelor's Degree in Materials Engineering cost?

€17.69 / credit · 2026/27 · all nationalities.

When is the next deadline or start?

Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

Catalan, Spanish and English.

How long does it take?

4 years.

Where is it?

Universitat de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 16 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 2 with values · 1 without
Language requirementNot found on official pages
Prior educationAlso: PAU or equivalent / CFGS · Level: Upper secondary⁠
Selection criteriaKind: Cutoff grade · Grade: 8.500 · Month: 2026-07 · Stage: start of the admission process, PAU and FP route · 2026⁠
Programme · 10 with values
QualificationGrado en Ingeniería de Materiales⁠
Credits240 ECTS⁠
DeliveryOn campus⁠
Duration4 years⁠
Language of instructionCatalan, Spanish and English⁠
LevelGrado · EQF 6, ISCED 6⁠
Places40 places⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Classes start 14 September 2026 (university framework calendar); second semester 1 February 2027 to 8 February 2027 · Scope: Institution calendar · Applies to: All · Start date: 14 Sep 2026 · 2026/27 · Second term window: 1 Feb 2027; 8 Feb 2027Inferred
StructureFacultad de Química · Type: Managing centre⁠Credit distribution · Basic: 72 · Total: 240 · Thesis: 12 · Elective: 24 · Compulsory: 132 · Internship: 0⁠
Thesis / final projectCredits: 12 · Required: Yes⁠

Institution record: Universitat de Barcelona

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.