A 2-year master's programme, taught in English, in Enschede.

Tracks3 to choose from⁠19 of 297 similar publish this
AccreditationNVAO · Status: Accredited⁠86 of 297 similar publish this
Price€2,771–€22,320/ year · 2027/28 · depending on citizenship
Next dateNext start
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires IELTS Academic 6.5
Duration2 years⁠

✓ 8 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
About this programme

Year one of this MSc is a heavy chemical engineering core: Advanced Catalysis, Advanced Chemical Reaction Engineering, Advanced Molecular Separations, Process Dynamics & Control and Statistical Thermo are all compulsory.⁠ Materials topics sit beside them, including Advanced Ceramics, Characterization and a Practicum Functional Materials.⁠ Students then specialise in one of three tracks: Chemical & Process Engineering, Materials, or Molecules & Organic Materials.⁠ The second year combines a 20 ECTS internship and job orientation project with a 40 ECTS master's thesis.⁠

The programme is full-time, English-taught and lasts 2 years on the Enschede campus, and it is accredited by NVAO.⁠ From the 2027 intake onward, applicants can show English with IELTS Academic at 6.5 overall and at least 6.0 on each part, or LanguageCert Academic at 70 overall.⁠ The next start date listed is 1 September 2027.⁠ Tuition for non-EU/EEA students is €21,700 per year in 2026/27 and €22,320 per year in 2027/28, against €2,694 and €2,771 for EU/EEA students.⁠

What you will study

62 modules published

Across 2 years of study.

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
Semester 1Not stated
InternshipSemester not stated
Year 2
Semester 3Not stated
Internship20 ECTSSemester not stated
InternshipYear known, semester not
What do you choose?

1 of 3 specialisations

Branches are the options the institution lists.

The options

  • Chemical & Process Engineering
  • Materials
  • Molecules & Organic Materials
When you choose: not stated
What are all the subjects?

All 62 modules

Year 1 · 56 modules · credits not published
ModuleType
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Compulsory
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool
Elective pool

Source: utwente.nl, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 6 modules
ModuleTypeECTS
Internship20
Internship20
Internship20
Thesis40
Thesis40
Thesis40

Source: utwente.nl, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelWo master · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationMSc · Croho code: 60977 · Degree title: Chemical Science & Engineering⁠
CreditsUnknown
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
CampusEnschede⁠
Accreditation
  • BodyNVAO⁠
  • StatusAccredited⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More maths and foundations than 4 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeChemical Science & Engineering Twente56
Robotics Twente18
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More maths and foundations, less data and computing

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Maths and foundations
13% here
6% typical

Less here than typical

Data and computing
0% here
7% typical
Society, ethics and law
4% here
10% typical
Thesis
5% here
12% typical
Languages and communication
0% here
4% typical
Research methods
0% here
4% typical
Projects and labs
5% here
9% typical

About the same as typical: internship, business and management, specialist subjects.

Which year differs most?

Close to similar programmes each year

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

Close to similar programmes

This programme

Year 2

Close to similar programmes

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Where you'll study

Studying in Enschede

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 159,732 in 2021
Distance to the centre≈ 3.7 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms through partner residences⁠ · Room guaranteed for international studentsInferred
RankingARWU 2026: 501-600, world⁠
FacilitiesGym⁠, Laboratories⁠, Library⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Studios⁠, Swimming pool⁠, Tennis courts⁠, Theatre⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠, Canteen⁠

The rest of what we hold on Twente is on its page.

What it costs

At least €22,420 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €22,420 first year · 2027/28 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2027/28€22,320
Application fee€100

Not published: visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (4)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2026/27€21,700 / year
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2026/27€2,694 / year
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2027/28€22,320 / year
TuitionEU/EEA citizens2027/28€2,771 / year
What changes the price?

4 things that move it

×8.1
EU/EEA€2,771
non-EU€22,320

Your passport changes the rate.

Grant

Aga Khan Foundation Scholarship

Grant

ASML Technology Scholarship

Grant

Canon Foundation Research Fellowship

Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 56 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €22,320

Costs more than 22 of 55 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €21,109 and €22,406.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 56, cheapest first
Electronic Engineering BEng (Hons) / MEng (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,445
Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) / MEng (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,445
Renewable Energy Engineering BEng (Hons) / MEng (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €3,774
Automotive Electronics and Electromobility (Vysoké učení technické v Brně)2026/27≈ €4,500
Bioengineering (Vysoké učení technické v Brně)2026/27≈ €4,500
Electrical Power Engineering (Vysoké učení technické v Brně)2026/27≈ €4,500
Environmental & Energy Management (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €18,720
Electrical and Electronic Engineering MEng (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Mechanical Engineering (Integrated Masters) MEng (University of East London)2027/28≈ €19,770
Electric Vehicle Engineering MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Engineering Management MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Intelligent Transport Planning and Engineering MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Mechanical Engineering MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
Oil and Gas with Energy Management MSc (University of East London)2026/27≈ €20,633
MA International Tourism and Aviation Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MMus Electronic Music Composition (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Biomedical Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Digital Audio Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Electronic and Robotic Engineering (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Food Business Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
MSc Marine Engineering Management (University of West London)2027/28≈ €21,268
Masters by Research Food and Public Health (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €21,711
This programme2027/28≈ €22,320
Biomedical Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Electrical Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Humanitarian Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Industrial Design Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Industrial Engineering & Management (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Interaction Technology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Mechanical Engineering (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Nanotechnology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Robotics (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Sustainable Energy Technology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Water Technology (University of Twente)2027/28≈ €22,320
Advanced Chemical Engineering, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Applied Food Safety and Quality Management, PGDip/MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Digital Design and Manufacturing, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Electrical and Electronic Engineering, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Engineering Management, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Food Innovation, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Sustainable Engineering (Energy & Power), MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Sustainable Engineering (Innovation & Management), MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Water, Waste and Environmental Engineering, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €22,406
Advanced Chemical Engineering with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Applied Food Safety and Quality Management with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Digital Design and Manufacturing with Placement Year, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Electrical and Electronic Engineering with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Engineering Management with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Food Innovation with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Global Environmental Change With Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Pharmaceutical Sciences with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Sustainable Engineering (Energy & Power) with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Sustainable Engineering (Innovation & Management) with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
Water, Waste and Environmental Engineering with Industrial Practice, MSc (University of Greenwich)2026/27≈ €26,180
And the whole degree?

≈ €44,640

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Apply by 1 May 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upApplication deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · EU/EEA citizensAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
ThenApplication deadline · DutchAdd to calendarReminds you 14 days beforeUnder 14 days left: the reminder fires right awayThis date has passed
Every date (3 dates)
May 2027
  • Application deadline · Non-EU/EEA citizens
Jul 2027
  • Application deadline · EU/EEA citizens
Aug 2027
  • Application deadline · Dutch
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.5 IELTS overall7 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 7 accepted proofs
Cambridge C1 Advanced 176 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 169
Cambridge C2 Proficiency 176 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 169
IELTS Academic 6.5 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 6.0
LanguageCert Academic 70 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Speaking writing min: 70 · Reading listening min: 65
PTE Academic 63 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 59
TOEFL iBT (after January 2026) 5 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Speaking min: 4.5 · Reading listening writing min: 5
TOEFL iBT (before January 2026) 100 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 25
What do they ask for?
Prior educationUnknown
How to applyUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

5 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Netherlands

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeChemical Science & Engineering TwenteSimilarMechanical Engineering TwenteSimilarRobotics Twente
Price€22,320 / year · 2027/28€22,320 / year · 2027/28€22,320 / year · 2027/28
Duration2 years2 years2 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date1 Sep 20271 Feb 20271 Feb 2027

5 of 6 publish a next date.

Twente · EnschedeNetherlands

Electrical Engineering

€2,771–€22,320 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship

20% free electives · 18% data and computing

MasterSpecialisationsTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date

Twente · EnschedeNetherlands

Biomedical Engineering

€2,771–€22,320 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship

21% free electives · 15% maths and foundations

MasterSpecialisationsTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date

Hanze · GroningenNetherlands

Energy for Society

Price on request

28% projects and labs · 28% thesis

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

Twente · EnschedeNetherlands

Environmental & Energy Management

€2,771–€18,720 / year · 2027/28 · by citizenship

38% society, ethics and law · 19% projects and labs

MasterSpecialisationsTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

90 facts from 8 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

90facts with a quote
8official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 8 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Chemical Science & Engineering is a master's programme in engineering and technology at University of Twente in Enschede, Netherlands. It takes 2 years. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 62 modules, of which 46 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are free electives (52%), maths and foundations (13%) and internship (7%).

It includes a choice of specialisations.

How much does Chemical Science & Engineering cost?

€22,320 / year · 2027/28 · non-EU; prices differ by citizenship (EU/EEA citizens: €2,771; Non-EU/EEA citizens: €22,320).

When is the next deadline or start?

1 Sep 2027 (Next start).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires IELTS Academic 6.5).

How long does it take?

2 years.

Where is it?

University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 15 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Dates · 1 with values
Start datesDate: 1 Sep 2027 · Term: September · 2027⁠Date: 1 Sep 2028 · Term: September · 2028⁠
Admission · 1 with values
Language requirementCambridge C1 Advanced 176 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 169⁠Cambridge C2 Proficiency 176 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 169⁠IELTS Academic 6.5 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 6.0⁠LanguageCert Academic 70 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Speaking writing min: 70 · Reading listening min: 65⁠PTE Academic 63 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 59⁠TOEFL iBT (after January 2026) 5 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Speaking min: 4.5 · Reading listening writing min: 5⁠TOEFL iBT (before January 2026) 100 · Intake: September 2027 onwards · Language: English · Sub score min: 25⁠
Programme · 10 with values
AccreditationNVAO · Status: Accredited⁠
CampusEnschede⁠
QualificationMSc · Croho code: 60977 · Degree title: Chemical Science & Engineering⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration2 years⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelWo master · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
LocationEnschede⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
TracksChemical & Process Engineering · Link: https://www.utwente.nl/en/education/master/programmes/chemical-science-engineering/specialisations/chemical-and-process-engineering/⁠Materials · Link: https://www.utwente.nl/en/education/master/programmes/chemical-science-engineering/specialisations/materials/⁠Molecules & Organic Materials · Link: https://www.utwente.nl/en/education/master/programmes/chemical-science-engineering/specialisations/molecules-and-organic-materials/⁠

Institution record: University of Twente

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.