A 2-year master's programme, taught in English, in Brno.

Price€3,000/ year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA
Next dateAcademic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty⁠Starts
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires CEFR
Duration2 years⁠

✓ 43 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

37 modules published

Across 2 years of study.

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
12 modules
6 modules30 ECTS
Year 2
10 modules37 ECTS
9 modules37 ECTS
StudyYear known, semester not
How does study run?

5 lines through 2 years

One line per theme. Hollow stop: the semester isn't stated. Our classification by module titles.

How does the focus shift?

Maths and foundations all the way

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingLanguages and communicationProjects and labsFree electives
Year 1Year 2
Year 1
Year 2
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Languages and communication
  • Projects and labs
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 37 modules

Year 1 · 18 modules · 77 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· winterElective4
· winterCompulsory2
· winterElective4
· winterCompulsory4
· winterElective3
· summerCompulsory4
· winterCompulsory4
· summerCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory4
· summerCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory4
· winterCompulsory elective5
· summerCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory4
· summerCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory elective4

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 19 modules · 74 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
· winterCompulsory elective4
· winterElective4
· summerElective2
· summerCompulsory elective3
· winterCompulsory4
· summerCompulsory6
· summerCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory3
· winterCompulsory4
· winterCompulsory5
· winterCompulsory4
· winterElective0
· winterCompulsory6
· winterCompulsory elective4
· summerCompulsory4
· winterCompulsory2
· summerCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory5
· summerCompulsory elective4

Source: vut.cz, checked 31 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMagistr · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationIng.⁠
CreditsUnknown
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Accreditation
  • BodyNational⁠
  • Valid from16 Jul 2020⁠
  • Valid until16 Jul 2030⁠
Codes and faculty
CodeN-MAI-A⁠
Registry codeN0541A170034⁠
FacultyFaculty of Mechanical Engineering⁠
Subject areas
  • AreaMathematics⁠
  • TopicWithout thematic area⁠
  • Share percent100⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More maths and foundations than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeMathematical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně37
Mechanical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně24
Bioengineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně35
Electrical Power Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně49
Bioengineering (Double Degree) Vysoké učení technické v Brně37
Environmental Sciences and Engineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně18
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More maths and foundations, less thesis

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Maths and foundations
37% here
18% typical

Less here than typical

Thesis
0% here
10% typical

About the same as typical: data and computing, specialist subjects, projects and labs, internship, research methods, society, ethics and law, languages and communication.

Which year differs most?

Year 1 stands out most

The same mix of themes, cut by year of study. Our classification by module titles.

Year 1

More languages and communication 6% against 0% at most

This programme

Year 2

More maths and foundations 42% against 38% at most

This programme
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Languages and communication
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Where you'll study

Studying in Brno

What is the campus like?
City size100,000 to 500,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 402,739 in 2025
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
RankingTHE World University Rankings 2027: 1201-1400, world⁠
FacilitiesGym⁠, Laboratories⁠, Library⁠, Music rooms⁠, Sports fields⁠, Sports hall⁠, Stadium⁠, Tennis courts⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠
SupportCounselling⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student union⁠

The rest of what we hold on Vysoké učení technické v Brně is on its page.

What it costs

At least €3,000 for the first year · EU/EEA

What does the first year cost?

≥ €3,000 first year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA · our sum

Tuition 2026/27€3,000

Not published: application fee and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (4)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
TuitionEU citizens2026/27€3,000 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2026/27€3,000 / year
TuitionEU citizens2027/28€3,000 / year
TuitionNon-EU citizens2027/28€3,000 / year
What changes the price?

3 things that move it

Grant

Accommodation scholarship

Grant

Merit and exceptional-case scholarships

−CZK 10,000

BUTalent

Is that expensive?

Cheaper than most

Among 34 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €3,000

Costs more than 0 of 33 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €21,507 and €22,795.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 34, cheapest first
This programme2026/27≈ €3,000
Aerospace Technology (Vysoké učení technické v Brně)2026/27≈ €3,000
Mechanical Engineering (Vysoké učení technické v Brně)2026/27≈ €3,000
Naval, Maritime and Coastal History (Distance Learning) MA (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €11,982
Professional Engineering (Learning at Work) MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €15,337
Engineering Management MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027≈ €21,447
MSc Aerospace Engineering (16-month route) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €21,507
MSc Electronics Engineering (16-month route) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €21,507
MSc Communications and Information Engineering (16-month route) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €21,507
MSc Power Electronics and Control (16-month route) (University of Hertfordshire)2026/27≈ €21,507
MEng (Hons) Aerospace Engineering with Space Technology (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
MEng (Hons) Automotive Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
MEng (Hons) Mechanical Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
MEng (Hons) Aerospace Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
MEng (Hons) Motorsport Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €21,531
Fashion Textiles MA (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €22,526
MSc Manufacturing Management (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Aerospace Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Audio Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Automotive Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Communications and Information Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Electronics Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Manufacturing Management (16-month route) (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Mechanical Engineering (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Power Electronics and Control (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
MSc Smart Manufacturing and AI (University of Hertfordshire)2027/28≈ €22,795
Advanced Manufacturing MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Biomedical Engineering MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Electronic and Electrical Engineering MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Energy and Power Systems Management MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Engineering Geology MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Engineering Management MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Mechanical Engineering MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
Water and Environmental Engineering MSc (University of Portsmouth)2027/28≈ €25,102
And the whole degree?

≈ €6,000

Tuition only.

At today's rate. Later years may cost more. Every Program estimate

How to start

Starts: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty

When does it happen?
DeadlinesApplication · Round: 1 · 2026 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026Inferred
Deadline ruleApplication · Round: 1 · 2026 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026Inferred
Is my language good enough?
English requirementB1 CEFR minimum
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyUnknown
  2. 2
    Prove your languageCEFR · CEFR from: B1 · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsEntrance exam: Written⁠
  4. 4
    How they chooseUnknown
  5. 5
    Where you applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineApplication · Round: 1 · 2026 · Start date: 1 Nov 2026Inferred
  8. 8
    StartUnknown
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Czechia

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeMathematical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarMechanical Engineering Vysoké učení technické v BrněSimilarBioengineering Vysoké učení technické v Brně
Price€3,000 / year · 2026/27€3,000 / year · 2026/27€4,500 / year · 2026/27
Duration2 years2 years2 years
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 6 publish a next date.

Vysoké učení technické v Brně · BrnoCzechia

Electrical Power Engineering

€1,000–€4,500 / year · 2026/27 · by citizenship

43% free electives · 19% maths and foundations

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish

Vysoké učení technické v Brně · BrnoCzechia

Bioengineering (Double Degree)

€1,000 / year · year not stated · confirm with the source

19% maths and foundations · 14% thesis

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish

Vysoké učení technické v Brně · BrnoCzechia

Environmental Sciences and Engineering

€200 / semester · year not stated · confirm with the source

25% maths and foundations · 25% thesis

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish

VŠB-TUO · OstravaCzechia

Control of Machines and Processes

CZK 50,000 / semester · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €2,057

21% projects and labs · 19% data and computing

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

96 facts from 43 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

96facts with a quote
43official pages
0fields marked unknown
All 43 sources
vut.cz/en/students/programmes/programme/96644231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes930 Oct 2026
vut.cz/eprihlaska/en/zadani/vybrat-obor/fakulta/4431 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/programmes?data[rok]=2027231 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/307580131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300479131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300498131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300509131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300123131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300125131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300130131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300132131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/308544131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300037131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300052131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300054131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300048131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300050131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300060131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300062131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300064131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300068131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300077131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300079131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/306658131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300085131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300092131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300089131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300101131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300106131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300103131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300108131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300110131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300111131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300113131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300116131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300118131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300134131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300178131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300230131 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/courses/detail/300262131 Oct 2026
fme.vutbr.cz/en130 Oct 2026
vut.cz/en/students/schedule131 Oct 2026
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Mathematical Engineering is a master's programme in engineering and technology at Vysoké učení technické v Brně in Brno, Czechia. It takes 2 years. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 37 modules, of which 12 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are maths and foundations (37%), data and computing (13%) and free electives (13%).

How much does Mathematical Engineering cost?

€3,000 / year · 2026/27 · EU/EEA; prices differ by citizenship (EU citizens: €3,000; Non-EU citizens: €3,000).

When is the next deadline or start?

Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires CEFR).

How long does it take?

2 years.

Where is it?

Vysoké učení technické v Brně, Brno, Czechia.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 21 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Admission · 3 with values
How to applyE application · Link: https://www.vut.cz/eprihlaska/en⁠
Admission testsEntrance exam: Written⁠
Language requirementCEFR · CEFR from: B1 · Language: English⁠
Programme · 14 with values
AccreditationNational · Valid from: 16 Jul 2020 · Valid until: 16 Jul 2030⁠
CodeN-MAI-A⁠
QualificationIng.⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration2 years⁠
FacultyFaculty of Mechanical Engineering⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelMagistr · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
LocationFaculty of Mechanical Engineering, BrnoInferred
ProfileAcademically oriented⁠
Registry codeN0541A170034⁠
Start ruleNote: Inferred from the institution-wide academic calendar; the programme page does not state its own start, and an individual programme may start on another date. · Rule: Academic year starts 1 September 2026 (university calendar); teaching starts on the dates set by each faculty · Scope: Institution calendar · Year end: 31 Aug 2027 · Applies to: All · Start date: 1 Sep 2026 · Start kind: Academic year · 2026/27Inferred
Study modeFull time⁠
Subject areasArea: Mathematics · Topic: Without thematic area · Share percent: 100⁠

Institution record: Vysoké učení technické v Brně

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.