A 4-semester master's programme, taught in English, in Munich.

Price€6,800/ semester · 2027/28 · non-EU
Next dateNext start
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires Ielts academic 6.5
Duration4 semesters⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 30 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

16 modules published

Across 2 years of study.

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
8 modules
4 modules24 ECTS
Year 2
4 modules24 ECTS
Semester 4Not stated
StudyYear known, semester not
How does the focus shift?

From business and management to data and computing

Share of modules by theme in each semester. Our classification by module titles.

Specialist subjectsMaths and foundationsData and computingBusiness and managementSociety, ethics and lawResearch methodsProjects and labsFree electives
Year 1Year 2
Year 1
Year 2
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Free electives
What are all the subjects?

All 16 modules

Year 1 · 12 modules · 72 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Compulsory6

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

Year 2 · 4 modules · 24 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Elective6
Elective6
Compulsory6
Elective6

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
CampusMunich⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More research methods than 6 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeFinance and Information Management (FIM) TUM16
MBA Finance & Accounting IU Internationale Hochschule14
Master in Financial Technology Frankfurt School16
Master of Finance Frankfurt School25
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More research methods, less business and management

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Research methods
6% here
1% typical

Less here than typical

Business and management
44% here
56% typical
Thesis
0% here
3% typical

About the same as typical: maths and foundations, data and computing, projects and labs, society, ethics and law, specialist subjects.

Where you'll study

Studying in Munich

What is the campus like?
City sizeOver 1 million people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 1,505,036 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 1.4 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingHelp finding a room, no rooms of its own⁠
RankingQS World University Rankings 2027: #1, national⁠
FacilitiesSports hallInferred, Library⁠
FoodCanteen⁠

The rest of what we hold on TUM is on its page.

What it costs

At least €13,794 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €13,794 first year · 2027/28 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2027/28 · 2 semesters€13,600
Semester contribution · 2 semesters€194

Not published: application fee, visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (2)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
Semester contributionAll applicants2026€97 / semester
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2027/28€6,800 / semester
Scholarships
  • TUM scholarship for international students€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

−€1,800

TUM scholarship for international students

Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 5 similar programmes, in euros / semester

This programme €6,800

Costs more than 2 of 4 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €2,057 and €6,800.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 5, cheapest first
How to start

Next: 18 Oct 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upProgramme starts
Every date (1 date)
Oct 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.5 IELTS overall6 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 7 accepted proofs
Language: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes
Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50
Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠
    +6 more
    • Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠
    • Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsTest: GMAT · Others: optional, adds points in stage 1 · Variants: Classic; Focus · Required for: Bachelor country: China; India; Pakistan; Egypt; Bangladesh · Min percentile: 65⁠
  4. 4
    How they chooseAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineUnknown
  8. 8
    StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
What do they ask for?
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Transcript of Records; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Curriculum (e.g. module description); Curricular Analysis; Essay; Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Germany

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeFinance and Information Management (FIM) TUMSimilarMBA Finance & Accounting IU Internationale HochschuleSimilarMaster in Financial Technology Frankfurt School
Price€6,800 / semester · 2027/28Not published€35,500 total · 2027
Duration4 semesters18 months4 semesters
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date18 Oct 2027Not published30 Jun 2027

5 of 6 publish a next date.

Frankfurt School · Frankfurt am MainGermany

Master of Finance

€44,000 total · 2027 · all nationalities

72% business and management · 8% maths and foundations

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
€1,500 / semester · year not stated · confirm with the source

75% business and management · 7% projects and labs

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date

TUM · MunichGermany

Risk and Safety

€6,800 / semester · 2027/28 · non-EU

55% free electives · 16% business and management

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

Frankfurt School · Frankfurt am MainGermany

Master of Leadership in Sustainable Finance (Online)

€21,500 total · 2027 · all nationalities

66% business and management · 3% society, ethics and law

MasterOnlinePart-timeEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

43 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 5 days ago.

43facts with a quote
6official pages
3fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Finance and Information Management (FIM) is a master's programme in economics and finance at Technische Universität München in Munich, Germany. It takes 4 semesters. It carries 120 ECTS credits. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 16 modules, of which 14 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are business and management (44%), data and computing (13%) and free electives (13%).

How much does Finance and Information Management (FIM) cost?

€6,800 / semester · 2027/28 · non-EU.

When is the next deadline or start?

18 Oct 2027 (Next start).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires Ielts academic 6.5).

How long does it take?

4 semesters.

Where is it?

Technische Universität München, Munich, Germany.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 21 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values
Scholarships€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
Dates · 1 with values
StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
Admission · 6 with values
How to applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Transcript of Records; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Curriculum (e.g. module description); Curricular Analysis; Essay; Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
Admission testsTest: GMAT · Others: optional, adds points in stage 1 · Variants: Classic; Focus · Required for: Bachelor country: China; India; Pakistan; Egypt; Bangladesh · Min percentile: 65⁠
Language requirementLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
Prior educationExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
Selection criteriaAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
Programme · 8 with values · 2 without
CampusMunich⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
Credits120 ECTS⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
Duration4 semesters · Mode: Full time⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
OutcomesNot found on official pages
Start ruleMonth: October · Terms: Winter semester⁠
Study modeFull time⁠

Institution record: Technische Universität München

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.