A 4-semester master's programme, taught in English, in Munich.

Price€6,800/ semester · 2027/28 · non-EU
Next dateNext start
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires Ielts academic 6.5
Duration4 semesters⁠

✓ 6 official sources · checked 30 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
What you will study

15 modules published

Where will you be?

4 semesters, one by one

Each block is what the institution publishes for that semester.

Year 1
1 module5 ECTS
9 modules
Year 2
Year 2Not stated
StudyYear known, semester not
What do you choose?

Where you study

Branches are the options the institution lists.

  • TUM Munich · Munich
  • TUM Garching · Garching
  • Weihenstephan · Freising
  • Straubing
  • Singapore
  • Heilbronn
  • Salzburg
  • Ottobrunn
  • Erlangen
  • Augsburg

The options

  • Munich
  • Garching
From the start
What are all the subjects?

All 15 modules

Year 1 · 10 modules · 52 ECTS
ModuleTypeECTS
Elective5
Elective5
Elective5
Elective5
Elective3
Compulsory5
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6
Elective6

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

Modules · 5 modules · all elective · 22 ECTS
ModuleECTS
3
5
3
6
5

Source: tum.de, checked 30 Oct 2026

The degree in facts
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
CreditsNot found on official pages
Study modeFull time⁠
DeliveryNot found on official pages
CampusMunich and Garching⁠
How it differs

Against similar programmes

Where this programme leans, compared with the same level and field.

What is there more of here?

More maths and foundations than 5 of 6 similar

Share of credits by theme. Right: modules counted. Our classification by module titles.

This programmeRisk and Safety TUM15
Master of Finance Frankfurt School25
MBA Finance & Accounting IU Internationale Hochschule14
Master in Financial Technology Frankfurt School16
  • Specialist subjects
  • Maths and foundations
  • Data and computing
  • Business and management
  • Society, ethics and law
  • Research methods
  • Projects and labs
  • Internship
  • Thesis
  • Free electives
Is this a typical programme?

More maths and foundations, less business and management

Share here against the average of 6 similar programmes. Our classification by module titles.

More here than typical

Maths and foundations
14% here
7% typical
Society, ethics and law
8% here
4% typical

Less here than typical

Business and management
16% here
51% typical
Projects and labs
0% here
6% typical
Data and computing
7% here
12% typical
Thesis
0% here
5% typical
Specialist subjects
0% here
4% typical

About the same as typical: research methods.

Where you'll study

Studying in Munich

What is the campus like?
HousingHelp finding a room, no rooms of its own⁠
RankingQS World University Rankings 2027: #1, national⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠
SupportCareer service⁠, Counselling⁠, Disability support⁠, Health service⁠, Student clubs⁠, Student unionInferred, Transport⁠

The rest of what we hold on TUM is on its page.

What it costs

At least €13,794 for the first year

What does the first year cost?

≥ €13,794 first year · 2027/28 · non-EU · our sum

Tuition 2027/28 · 2 semesters€13,600
Semester contribution · 2 semesters€194

Not published: application fee, visa fee, insurance and living costs

Add your own figures Not published. Only you see these, nothing is saved.

Every fee as the institution publishes it (3)
FeeWho pays itYearAmount
Semester contributionAll applicants2026€97 / semester
Semester contributionAll applicants2026€97 / semester
TuitionNon-EU/EEA citizens2027/28€6,800 / semester
Scholarships
  • TUM scholarship for international students€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
What changes the price?

1 thing that move it

−€1,800

TUM scholarship for international students

Is that expensive?

A typical price

Among 5 similar programmes, in euros / semester

This programme €6,800

Costs more than 2 of 4 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €2,057 and €6,800.

Same level, field and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 5, cheapest first
How to start

Next: 18 Oct 2027

Dates that differ by citizenship are marked for your group.

When does it happen?
Next upProgramme starts
Every date (1 date)
Oct 2027
  • Programme starts
Is my language good enough?
English requirement6.5 IELTS overall6 tests accepted
Check your score Saved in your profile, in this browser.
All 7 accepted proofs
Language: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes
Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English
Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50
Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English
What are the steps?
  1. 1
    Check you qualifyExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
  2. 2
    Prove your languageLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠
    +6 more
    • Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠
    • Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠
    • Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
    • Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
  3. 3
    Admission testsUnknown
  4. 4
    How they chooseAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
  5. 5
    Where you applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
  6. 6
    DocumentsUnknown
  7. 7
    DeadlineUnknown
  8. 8
    StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
What do they ask for?
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Transcript of Records; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Curriculum (e.g. module description); Essay; Statement of purpose (Letter of Motivation); Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

4 of 6 similar publish a price

Similar: same level, field and language, Germany

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 4 more.

This programmeRisk and Safety TUMSimilarMathematical Finance and Actuarial Science TUMSimilarFinance and Information Management (FIM) TUM
Price€6,800 / semester · 2027/28€6,800 / semester · 2027/28€6,800 / semester · 2027/28
Duration4 semesters4 semesters4 semesters
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next date18 Oct 202712 Apr 202718 Oct 2027

5 of 6 publish a next date.

Frankfurt School · Frankfurt am MainGermany

Master of Finance

€44,000 total · 2027 · all nationalities

72% business and management · 8% maths and foundations

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date

IU Internationale Hochschule · CologneGermany

MBA Finance & Accounting

€17,500 total · year not stated · confirm with the source

64% business and management · 14% projects and labs

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish

Frankfurt School · Frankfurt am MainGermany

Master in Financial Technology

€35,500 total · 2027 · all nationalities

44% business and management · 38% data and computing

MasterTaught in EnglishScholarshipsEnglish
Next date
€1,500 / semester · year not stated · confirm with the source

75% business and management · 7% projects and labs

MasterTaught in EnglishEnglish
Next date
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

41 facts from 6 official sources

Checked 5 days ago.

41facts with a quote
6official pages
4fields marked unknown
All 6 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

Risk and Safety is a master's programme in economics and finance at Technische Universität München in Munich, Germany. It takes 4 semesters. Teaching is in English.

The institution publishes 15 modules, of which 14 are optional. By our classification of module titles, the largest themes are free electives (55%), business and management (16%) and maths and foundations (14%).

How much does Risk and Safety cost?

€6,800 / semester · 2027/28 · non-EU.

When is the next deadline or start?

18 Oct 2027 (Next start).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires Ielts academic 6.5).

How long does it take?

4 semesters.

Where is it?

Technische Universität München, Munich, Germany.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 20 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 1 with values
Scholarships€500–€1,800 / semester · Non-EU/EEA citizens⁠
Dates · 1 with values
StartDate: 18 Oct 2027 · Kind: Lecture start · Term: Winter semester · 2027/28 · Semester start: 1 Oct 2027⁠
Admission · 5 with values
How to applyKind: Direct online · Portal: TUMonline · Preliminary review: uni-assist VPD for degrees obtained outside Germany⁠
AdmissionKind: Application documents · Items: Degree Certificate and Diploma or Subject and Grade Transcript of Studies to Date; Transcript of Records; Proof of English Language Proficiency; Curriculum (e.g. module description); Essay; Statement of purpose (Letter of Motivation); Complete and Current Résumé; Passport; Preliminary Documentation (VPD) if the qualification for graduate studies (e.g. a Bachelor’s) was obtained outside Germany)⁠Kind: Enrollment documents · Items: Application for Enrollment (signed); Degree Certificate and Diploma (authentic document); Transcript of Records (authentic document); Most Current Photo (as for ID); Digital notification of your health insurance status from a German public health insurance provider (requested by applicant)⁠
Language requirementLanguage: English · Alternative: No · Deadline note: proof by end of application period · Proof required: Yes⁠Cambridge cae · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Cambridge cpe · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Grades: A; B; C · Language: English⁠Ielts academic 6.5 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Prior studies in english · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English · Min share percent: 50⁠Pte academic 65 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠Toefl ibt 88 · Scope: TUM-wide minimum for programmes taught in this language · Language: English⁠
Prior educationExample: Bachelor · Qualification: Recognized undergraduate degree⁠
Selection criteriaAptitude Assessment for Master · Stages: 2 · Criterion: Aptitude assessment⁠
Programme · 7 with values · 3 without
CampusMunich and Garching⁠
QualificationMaster of Science · Abbr: M.Sc.⁠
CreditsNot found on official pages
DeliveryNot found on official pages
Duration4 semesters · Mode: Full time⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LevelMaster · EQF 7, ISCED 7⁠
OutcomesNot found on official pages
Start ruleMonth: October · Terms: Winter semester⁠
Study modeFull time⁠

Institution record: Technische Universität München

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.