A 2-year secondary school, taught in English, in Überlingen.

Final projectExtended essay⁠0 of 113 similar publish this
BoardingBoth · Boarding share percent: 95⁠86 of 113 similar publish this
CurriculaIB Diploma Programme⁠98 of 113 similar publish this
Price€68,400/ year · 2027/28 · all nationalities
Next dateschool year start (September); entry possible into any grade 5 to 11⁠Starts
LanguageEnglish⁠Requires language certificate
Duration2 years⁠

✓ 13 official sources · checked 31 Oct 2026

Official page ↗
The school years

IB

What do they study?

IB

Individuals and Societies · 4 subjects
Business ManagementEconomicsGlobal PoliticsHistory
Language A · 6 subjects
English LiteratureEnglish Language and LiteratureGerman LiteratureGerman Language and LiteratureSpanish Literature (on demand)Self-taught mother tongue
Language B & Language ab initio · 4 subjects
English BGerman B / ab initioFrench B (on demand)Spanish B
Mathematics · 2 subjects
Maths Analysis HL/SLMaths Applications HL/SL
Sciences · 5 subjects
PhysicsChemistryBiologyComputer ScienceEnvironmental Systems and Societies
The Arts · 2 subjects
Visual ArtsTheatre Arts
Which grades exactly?
Grades as the school names them (1)
Stage: IB Diploma Programme · Year max: 12 · Year min: 11
Life at school

Day to day

The school in facts
BoardingBoth
Class sizeMax: 20
QualificationInternational Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) · Type: Diploma · Title: International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB)⁠
Where you'll study

Studying in Überlingen

What is the campus like?
City sizeUnder 100,000 people · our calculation from Wikidata: about 22,799 in 2025
Distance to the centre≈ 2.5 km from the centre, straight line · our calculation
HousingRooms run by the institution⁠
FacilitiesLibrary⁠, Theatre⁠
FoodCafeteria⁠, Canteen⁠
SupportTransportInferred, Career service⁠, Counselling⁠, Health service⁠, Student union⁠

The rest of what we hold on Schule Schloss Salem is on its page.

What it costs

€68,400 / year

Fees as the school lists them, each with its year.

How does the price vary?

/ month · 2027/28 · All applicants

Is that expensive?

More expensive than most

Among 51 similar programmes, in euros / year

This programme €68,400

Costs more than 44 of 50 similar programmes. Half of them cost between €28,627 and €48,454.

Same level and language. Years differ; euros are approximate (ECB).

All 51, cheapest first
Middle School (American School of Valencia)2026/27≈ €9,291
Secondary (Cambridge House British International School)2026/27≈ €9,400
Secundaria (Year 7 a 11) (Caxton College)2026/27≈ €9,810
High School (American School of Valencia)2026/27≈ €9,862
International Baccalaureate Diploma Program (American School of Valencia)2026/27≈ €9,862
Sixth Form (Cambridge House British International School)2026/27≈ €9,950
Bachillerato (Year 12 y 13) (Caxton College)2026/27≈ €9,980
Osmileté gymnázium Open Gate (Open Gate – Boarding School)2026/27≈ €11,601
Elite Sports Programme (Sotogrande International School)2026/27≈ €20,830
Middle School (MYP) (Sotogrande International School)2026/27≈ €23,100
Junior High (Riverside School Prague)2026/27≈ €25,916
Senior High: IGCSE Programme (Years 10-11) (Riverside School Prague)2026/27≈ €28,014
High School (IB Diploma, High School Diploma) (Sotogrande International School)2026/27≈ €28,255
Sixth Form (16-18) (The British School in the Netherlands)2026/27≈ €28,998
Senior High: IB Diploma Programme (Years 12-13) (Riverside School Prague)2026/27≈ €29,084
Middle School (International School of Prague)2026/27≈ €30,935
Middle Years Programme (Grades 6-10) (International School of Amsterdam)2026/27≈ €31,895
MYP Programme (Middle Years Programme) (Danube International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €32,342
IB Diploma Programme (Grades 11-12) (International School of Amsterdam)2026/27≈ €32,755
Career-related Programme @ ISP (International School of Prague)2026/27≈ €34,185
Diploma Programme @ ISP (International School of Prague)2026/27≈ €34,185
Upper School (International School of Prague)2026/27≈ €34,185
DP Programme (Diploma Programme) (Danube International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €35,240
A-levels (Kings Education)2026/27≈ €39,684
A-levels: transfer from Year 12 and resits (one year) (Kings Education)2026/27≈ €39,684
International High School Programme (Kings Education)2026/27≈ €39,684
A Level AI-Powered Adaptive Learning Programme (David Game College)2026/27≈ €41,936
GCSE AI-Adaptive Learning Programme (David Game College)2026/27≈ €41,936
A Level (David Game College)2026/27≈ €44,932
A Level Retake Course (David Game College)2026/27≈ €44,932
GCSE (David Game College)2026/27≈ €44,932
GCSE Retake Course (David Game College)2026/27≈ €44,932
Extended Diploma in Creative Practice: Art, Design & Communication (Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts)2027/28≈ €47,124
Extended Diploma in Music Performance and Production (Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts)2027/28≈ €47,124
Extended Diploma in Performing Arts – Drama (Cambridge School of Visual & Performing Arts)2027/28≈ €47,124
Junior High School (Grades 7-8) (American International School Salzburg)2026/27≈ €48,000
A Level (CATS Global Schools)2027/28≈ €48,454
GCSE (CATS Global Schools)2027/28≈ €48,454
Pre-A level (CATS Global Schools)2027/28≈ €48,454
AIS-Salzburg High School Diploma (Grades 9-12) (American International School Salzburg)2026/27≈ €51,000
A-Level (Abbey DLD Colleges)2026/27≈ €56,226
BTEC (Abbey DLD Colleges)2026/27≈ €56,226
GCSE (Abbey DLD Colleges)2026/27≈ €56,226
Middle Years Programme (Grades 6-10) (Amadeus International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €65,230
This programme2027/28≈ €68,400
AMADEUS High School Diploma (Grades 9-12) (Amadeus International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €69,865
IB Diploma Programme (Grades 11-12) (Amadeus International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €69,865
IB Career-related Programme with a focus on Business (Grades 11-12) (Amadeus International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €69,865
IB Career-related Programme in Music (Grades 11-12) (Amadeus International School Vienna)2026/27≈ €69,865
IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) (St. Gilgen International School)2026/27≈ €74,200
IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) and StGIS Diploma (St. Gilgen International School)2026/27≈ €75,800
Fees by grade
Grade or stageYear · who paysPrice
full-day student, IB years 1-22026/27 · All applicants€2,275 / month
full-day student, IB years 1-22026/27 · All applicants€27,300 / year
full-day student, IB years 1-22027/28 · All applicants€2,390 / month
full-day student, IB years 1-22027/28 · All applicants€28,680 / year
IB years 1-2, entry from IB year 12027/28 · All applicants€5,700 / month
IB years 1-2, entry from IB year 12027/28 · All applicants€68,400 / year
IB years 1-2, existing students2027/28 · All applicants€5,200 / month
IB years 1-2, existing students2027/28 · All applicants€62,400 / year
IB years 1-22026/27 · All applicants€4,950 / month
IB years 1-22026/27 · All applicants€59,400 / year
What else do you pay?
Other feesYear · who paysPrice
Administration surcharge2026/27 · All applicants€2,000 one-time
Registration2026/27 · All applicants€2,000 one-time
IB years 1-2 · Deposit2026/27 · All applicants€14,850 one-time
IB years 1-2 · Deposit2026/27 · All applicants€4,950 one-time
Every fee and condition published
Included in the price
  • EducationAccommodationMealsAncillary costs (about 200 EUR per month)
Extra costs
  • Individual instrument lessons, 30 min per week€92 / month · Instrument lessons⁠
  • Individual instrument lessons, 45 min per week€138 / month · Instrument lessons⁠
  • Individual instrument lessons, 60 min per week€184 / month · Instrument lessons⁠
Discounts
  • Alumni children1.5 · school and boarding fee⁠
  • Siblings10 percent · school and boarding fee of all siblings⁠
Payment schedule
  • OptionsMonthlyAnnual
  • Credit cardsNo⁠
  • Foreign currency transfersvia Flywire⁠
  • Direct debit within germanyYes⁠
How to get in

Starts: school year start (September); entry possible into any grade 5 to 11

Is my language good enough?
English requirementC1 CEFR minimum
What do they ask for?
Admission testsFormat: placement tests in various subjects for applicants from abroad or other school types · Decided case by case for: applicants from Gymnasien⁠
How to applyContact then documents · Steps: contact the admissions office; send application documents; placement test if needed; visit and interview or digital introduction⁠
What else to look at

Other options

How do the alternatives compare?

5 of 5 similar publish a price

Similar: same type and language, all countries

The first two matches side by side with this programme, then 3 more.

This programmeIB Diploma Programme Schule Schloss SalemSimilarInternational Classes (grades 8-10) Schule Schloss SalemSimilarIB Diploma Programme (Grades 11-12) Amadeus Vienna
Price€68,400 / year · 2027/28€57,360 / year · 2027/28€69,865 / year · 2026/27
Duration2 yearsNot publishedNot published
LanguageEnglishEnglishEnglish
Next dateNot publishedNot publishedNot published

0 of 5 publish a next date.

Amadeus Vienna · ViennaAustria

AMADEUS High School Diploma (Grades 9-12)

€69,865 / year · 2026/27 · all nationalities
IB · AP · US diploma
curriculum
Secondary schoolTaught in EnglishBoardingEnglish
Rolling start
€69,865 / year · 2026/27 · all nationalities
IB
curriculum
Secondary schoolTaught in EnglishBoardingEnglish
Rolling start
Where this comes from

Every fact has a source

Why trust this page?

48 facts from 13 official sources

Checked 4 days ago.

48facts with a quote
13official pages
3fields marked unknown
All 13 sources
The short version

The programme, from the facts

IB Diploma Programme is a secondary school at Schule Schloss Salem in Überlingen, Germany. It takes 2 years. Teaching is in English.

It includes boarding.

How much does IB Diploma Programme cost?

€68,400 / year · 2027/28 · all nationalities.

When is the next deadline or start?

school year start (September); entry possible into any grade 5 to 11 (Starts).

What language is it taught in?

English (Requires language certificate).

How long does it take?

2 years.

Where is it?

Schule Schloss Salem, Überlingen, Germany.

Spotted a mistake? Report an error and we fix and log it.

Everything we hold

All 27 fields we hold

Every value with its source, and every field we looked for but could not find.

Money · 4 with values
Extra costs€92 / month · Instrument lessonsInferredYear not stated: confirm with the source€138 / month · Instrument lessonsInferredYear not stated: confirm with the source€184 / month · Instrument lessonsInferredYear not stated: confirm with the source
DiscountsAlumni children · Percent: 1.5 · Applies to: school and boarding fee⁠Siblings · Percent: 10 · Applies to: school and boarding fee of all siblings⁠
Included in the priceEducation, Accommodation, Meals, ancillary costs (about 200 EUR per month)Inferred
Payment scheduleOptions: Monthly; Annual · Credit cards: No · Foreign currency transfers: via Flywire · Direct debit within germany: Yes⁠
Admission · 3 with values
How to applyContact then documents · Steps: contact the admissions office; send application documents; placement test if needed; visit and interview or digital introduction⁠
Admission testsFormat: placement tests in various subjects for applicants from abroad or other school types · Decided case by case for: applicants from Gymnasien⁠
Language requirementlanguage certificate · CEFR: C1 · Example: Cambridge CAE · Language: English · Applies to grades: 11 / IB1⁠
Programme · 15 with values · 3 without
Maximum ageNot found on official pages
Minimum ageNot found on official pages
AssessmentExternal exams percent: 70 · Internal assessment percent: 30⁠Passing conditions: Min total points: 24 · Min points higher level: 12 · Min points standard level: 9⁠
BoardingBoth · Boarding share percent: 95⁠
Class sizeMax: 20 · Min: 10⁠
QualificationInternational Baccalaureate Diploma (IB) · Type: Diploma · Title: International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB)⁠
CurriculaIB Diploma Programme⁠
DeliveryOn campusInferred
Duration2 years⁠
Exam resultsNot found on official pages
GradesStage: IB Diploma Programme · Year max: 12 · Year min: 11⁠
Language of instructionEnglish⁠
LocationSchloss Spetzgart (grade 11), Campus Härlen (grade 12), Überlingen, Germany⁠
Start ruleschool year start (September); entry possible into any grade 5 to 11⁠
StructureCore · Components: Extended Essay; Theory of Knowledge; Creativity, Activity, Service⁠
Study modeFull timeInferred
SubjectsGroup: Individuals and Societies · Subjects: Business Management; Economics; Global Politics; History⁠Group: Language A · Subjects: English Literature; English Language and Literature; German Literature; German Language and Literature; Spanish Literature (on demand); Self-taught mother tongue⁠Group: Language B & Language ab initio · Subjects: English B; German B / ab initio; French B (on demand); Spanish B⁠Group: Mathematics · Subjects: Maths Analysis HL/SL; Maths Applications HL/SL⁠Group: Sciences · Subjects: Physics; Chemistry; Biology; Computer Science; Environmental Systems and Societies⁠Group: The Arts · Subjects: Visual Arts; Theatre Arts⁠
Thesis / final projectExtended essay⁠

Institution record: Schule Schloss Salem

Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.