PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
Victorian Gothic: History, Literature and Culture (Distance Learning) MA
- 1 yr
- length
By field of study
4 institutions in 3 cities · typically €21,537–€21,711 per year (non-EU, 2026/27)
Middle half of 22 programmes with the same fee period, applicant category and year; the line is the median, €21,711. 22 of 45 publish a fee we can compare; the rest are not in this chart. Our calculation, EUR is approximate (ECB rate of 4 Nov 2026).
| English Literature postgraduate research degrees · University of Portsmouth | €21,447 |
| History postgraduate research degrees · University of Portsmouth | €21,447 |
| Languages and Applied Linguistics postgraduate research degrees · University of Portsmouth | €21,447 |
| English Language and Literature, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| English Language and TESOL, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| English Literature, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| History and Politics, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| History, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| International Business with Language, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| Languages and International Relations, BA Hons · University of Greenwich | €21,537 |
| Masters by Research Advanced Cell and Tissue Culture Models · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| Masters by Research English Language and Communication · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| Masters by Research English Literature · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| Masters by Research History · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| Masters by Research Philosophy · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| PhD Advanced Cell and Tissue Culture Models · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| PhD English Language and Communication · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| PhD English Literature · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| PhD History · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| PhD Philosophy · University of Hertfordshire | €21,711 |
| Applied Linguistics, MA · University of Greenwich | €22,406 |
| English Literature, MA · University of Greenwich | €22,406 |
Bars share one scale: the full bar is all 45 programmes.
Picked by how distinctive and well documented they are, at most two per institution. Never paid.
| Programme | Level | Length | Language | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Linguistics and TESOL MAPortsmouth · Portsmouth | Master | ?Not stated | English | £19,500 / year · 2027/28 · EU/EEA ≈ €23,364 |
| Translation Studies (Distance Learning) MAPortsmouth · Portsmouth | Master | ?Not stated | ?Not stated | £11,500 / year · 2027/28 · EU/EEA ≈ €13,779 |
| MA Literature and Culture (Online)Hertfordshire · Hatfield | Master | ?Not stated | English | £11,310 total · 2026/27 · all nationalities ≈ €13,551 |
| BA (Hons) International Business with Modern LanguagesHertfordshire · Hatfield | Bachelor | ?Not stated | English | £17,970 / year · 2027/28 · EU/EEA ≈ €21,531 |
| Applied Linguistics, MAGreenwich · London | Master | 1 year | English | £18,700 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU ≈ €22,406 |
| English Literature, MAGreenwich · London | Master | 1 year | English | £18,700 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU ≈ €22,406 |
| PhD English LiteratureWest London · London | Doctorate | 4 years | English | £16,000 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU ≈ €19,171 |
| PhD Translational MedicineWest London · London | Doctorate | 4 years | English | £16,000 / year · 2026/27 · non-EU ≈ €19,171 |
Bachelor, master and doctorate programmes that we classify under humanities and languages (our classification from the programme's field codes). Limited to programmes in the United Kingdom. Programmes closed to new students are left out.
We list 45 programmes (humanities and languages degrees in the United Kingdom) at 4 institutions, spread over 3 cities; the most are in Portsmouth (19). The largest providers are University of Portsmouth (19), University of Hertfordshire (13) and University of Greenwich (11); 1 other institution have fewer. By level: 22 bachelor's, 12 master's and 11 doctoral.
Among the 22 that publish a per year fee for non-EU applicants in 2026/27, the middle half costs €21,537 to €21,711 and the median is €21,711. The lowest is €21,447 at Portsmouth; the highest is €22,406 at Greenwich. Most common length: 3 years (8 of 12 that state one), from 1 year to 4 years. All 40 that state a language are taught in English. 10 of 45 mention an internship and 5 of 45 mention a semester abroad. The next published start or deadline is 1 Dec 2026 (Masters by Research Advanced Cell and Tissue Culture Models). Facts were last checked on 31 Oct 2026; each figure links to its source on the programme page.
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
46% languages and communication · 16% society, ethics and law
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
51% languages and communication · 17% free electives
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
64% languages and communication · 12% projects and labs
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
35% free electives · 24% society, ethics and law
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
54% languages and communication · 20% free electives
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
49% languages and communication · 21% free electives
PortsmouthUnited Kingdom
33% free electives · 30% languages and communication
45 programmes at 4 institutions in the United Kingdom. 45 of them have detailed facts with sources on their own pages.
Among 22 programmes that publish a per year fee for non-EU applicants in 2026/27, the middle half costs €21,537 to €21,711, with a median of €21,711 (about, converted to EUR at the ECB rate; our calculation). 23 more do not publish a comparable fee. Always confirm on the institution's page.
40 of the 40 that state a language of instruction are taught in English. The language is shown on each programme card.
8 of 12 that state a length last 3 years. Lengths range from 1 year to 4 years.
University of Portsmouth (19), University of Hertfordshire (13), University of Greenwich (11) and University of West London (2).
10 of 45 mention internship on their official pages. The others do not say, which does not mean they do not offer it.
Every programme links to its source and check date. Typical ranges show the middle half and median of programmes with the same fee period, applicant category and year, and only for 5 or more. How we check
Programmes you open appear here, so you can switch between them.